PDA

View Full Version : How To Fix The Black Screen on Netbook Toshiba NB100 After Ahe First Installation



MrZeeAdd
2013-04-01, 02:31
Hi Community :)


I have a netbook Toshiba NB100



Specs:
Processor Intel Atom N270
Processor clock speed 1.6GHz
Memory 1.00GB
Maximum memory 1GB
Size 40x225x189
Weight 1.1kg
Sound Realtek High Definition Audio
Pointing device touchpad
Power consumption standby 1W
Power consumption idle 13W
Power consumption active 30W

Display:
Viewable size 8.9 in
Native resolution 1,024x600
Graphics Processor Intel GMA 950
Graphics/video ports VGA
Graphics Memory 128MB


After the installation of Kali Linux 32Bit Gnome, I ended up with a black screen after booting grub.
To fix this inconvenience, start the netbook, and press up/down arrow for canceling the countdown.
Press "e" to edit the grub commands and remplace the word

quiet

By


nomodeset

and press CTRL + X

After login, open the console and edit grub:


nano /etc/default/grub

Replace


GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="quite"

By


GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="nomodeset"

Press CTRL + X to quit and save change. Always in the Console write:


update-grub

Now you can start your Kali Linux on this Netbook, but the maximum detected resolution is 800x600. Nobody have * solution to force the resolution 1024x600 ?

grumble69
2013-04-03, 14:13
I have an old Dell Inspiron 8500. The install went ok. But when I would try to boot up, the graphics would get corrupted after a certain point in the boot-up process. Hard to describe. Weird colors. The odd horizontal or vertical line. It would look like the video card had gone bad, but I knew it was fine.

I was about to give up on Kali when I saw this thread. This solution fixed things perfectly for me. Thx!

MrZeeAdd
2013-04-03, 20:24
I have an old Dell Inspiron 8500. The install went ok. But when I would try to boot up, the graphics would get corrupted after a certain point in the boot-up process. Hard to describe. Weird colors. The odd horizontal or vertical line. It would look like the video card had gone bad, but I knew it was fine.

I was about to give up on Kali when I saw this thread. This solution fixed things perfectly for me. Thx!

Thanks for your feedback ;)

mantron
2013-04-14, 17:59
thank you for this perfect solution. I run kali on a macbook white 2006. intel core 2 duo(dual boot with mac osx).

pkugan03
2013-04-17, 10:01
Anyone found a way to force the resolution 1024x600

bhunter
2013-04-20, 13:31
Hi, thank you for this solution.
I was ready to make new thread about my problem, but then I found this. :D
Cheers

maks
2014-01-25, 23:51
Hi...thanks for this wonderful solution. I was having the problem on my old macbook 2,1 but was finally able to install.

However I am also seeing resolution issue as I can't increase to 1280x800. Was anyone able to figure out the resolution issue?

Thanks in advance!

Maks