PDA

View Full Version : How to install Emerald, Beryl, Compiz, etc. post how-to's here!



S373N
2013-04-09, 23:15
i am trying to figure out how to install these on kali linux.

they are simple to install in slackware, ubuntu, or the normal debian distros. but since kali is extra **** built up on the debian distro it's a little different. if anybody knows how post here

charonsecurity
2013-04-10, 05:15
Please remember the makers of Kali intended it to be a Pen Test platform, intentionally keeping it streamlined for that purpose. So adding other features may require a a few more steps than usual. If Kali isn't working for you, Ubuntu or Mint might be a good alternative. With that said;
http://wiki.debian.org/Compiz

Short version;
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib
apt-get -t sid install compiz

S373N
2013-04-10, 17:34
of course, you dont want your ram to get overloaded by a bunch of gui ****, or your cpu to run to hot.

klmnxr
2013-04-16, 14:07
In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:


00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)

Here is my way to get compiz working:
1. Add repo to sources (as root):


echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list

2. Configure APT (as root):


echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf

3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):


apt-get update
apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager

4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):


compiz --replace

Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.

PsychoNix
2013-05-16, 08:42
In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:



Here is my way to get compiz working:
1. Add repo to sources (as root):


echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list

2. Configure APT (as root):


echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf

3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):


apt-get update
apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager

4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):


compiz --replace

Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.



Working Like A Charm Thank You So Much

S373N
2013-05-20, 21:33
In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:



Here is my way to get compiz working:
1. Add repo to sources (as root):


echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list

2. Configure APT (as root):


echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf

3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):


apt-get update
apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager

4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):


compiz --replace

Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.


I had my compiz + emerald working great! did an update with the repos etc. and now "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib HAS EXPIRED"

THIS TOTALLY SCREWED UP MY SYSTEM, I HAD TO DO A RE-INSTALL LOL and now due to the new release of Debian the old Repo mentioned above is EXPIRED and in the new source compiz has been removed

0okami
2013-05-23, 14:22
I had my compiz + emerald working great! did an update with the repos etc. and now "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib HAS EXPIRED"

THIS TOTALLY SCREWED UP MY SYSTEM, I HAD TO DO A RE-INSTALL LOL and now due to the new release of Debian the old Repo mentioned above is EXPIRED and in the new source compiz has been removed

Doing fine over here so far.

What does "-t" do? I did apt-get alone to see what the options were but -t was not listed. -?-

S373N
2013-05-29, 22:08
In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:



Here is my way to get compiz working:
1. Add repo to sources (as root):


echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list

2. Configure APT (as root):


echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf

3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):


apt-get update
apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager

4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):


compiz --replace

Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.

Hey man, everytime i try your method i get this error whenever i use apt-get install... "E: The value 'testing' is invalid for APT::Default-Release as such a release is not available in the sources"

noezz
2013-06-04, 18:01
In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:



Here is my way to get compiz working:
1. Add repo to sources (as root):


echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list

2. Configure APT (as root):


echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf

3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):


apt-get update
apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager

4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):


compiz --replace

Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.


compiz successfully installed by using this method,, The issue is when I want to install conky with this code "sudo apt-get install conky conky-all" then the result like this "Reading package lists... Done
E: The value 'testing' is invalid for APT:: Default-Release as such a release is not available in the sources" please help me anyone that can fix this problem... sorry if my english not good...

the_z_1
2013-08-20, 12:56
compiz no longer seems possible to install using both methods .. Or maybe some 1 has a workaround they would like to share ; )

VoLand
2013-08-23, 08:18
cat /proc/version
Linux version 3.7-trunk-686-pae (debian-kernel@lists.debian.org) (gcc version 4.7.2 (Debian 4.7.2-5) ) #1 SMP Debian 3.7.2-0+kali8

Package compiz is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

Package compizconfig-settings-manager is not available, but is referred to by another package.
This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
is only available from another source

E: Package 'compiz' has no installation candidate
E: Не удалось найти пакет compiz-fusion-plugins-extra
E: Package 'compizconfig-settings-manager' has no installation candidate


#

# deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 7.0 _Kali_ - Official Snapshot i386 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20130425-11:12]/ kali contrib main non-free

#deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 7.0 _Kali_ - Official Snapshot i386 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20130425-11:12]/ kali contrib main non-free

## Security updates
deb http://security.kali.org/kali-security kali/updates main contrib non-free
deb http://ftp.ru.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib
deb http://http.kali.org/kali kali main contrib non-free
deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib


not worked

the_z_1
2013-08-26, 09:51
It seems compiz has been pulled from the repos altogether , and it must be for a good reason (ie) unstable unmaintained or for some reasons other. But the main thing is this its not for nothing , the guys at kali have done in a great job over the years from Backtrack all the way through to Kali . Ill say this b4 some 1 flames me ; )) Kali is for pen-testing and it does the job not only well but is also FREE even though free comes at a price , we all know it takes time PERSONAL time and effort and lots of it to make it the best in its class in my opinion , so my faith stays in them , but its also a great way to learn , sure the eye candy was great and even some of the greats on here have used it at some point .,,, no names we all seen the videos ; ) and yes we could use another distro like Ubuntu etc . But here is thing i like learning things and not just clicking on some icon so il plod away try things and probably break things along the way but the most important thing ive learned so far is that when you use Backtrack or Kali there are NO rules just opinions . So stay tuned to the forums read up a lot and who knows some 1 might figure it out ohh and the late nights copious amounts of coffee and being a keyboard warrior don't really help they just keep you up longer .