PDA

View Full Version : Root screen locking



system_crash
2013-04-10, 14:25
This is how to make your root screen lock works. Just follow simple steps :D
Open up your terminal:


apt-get remove gnome-screensaver
apt-get source gnome-screensaver
cd gnome-screensaver-3-4.1/src
nano setuid.c

now find

if (getuid () == (uid_t) 0) {
reason = g_strdup ("running as root");
ret = FALSE;
goto out;
}
and change it this way

/*if (getuid () == (uid_t) 0) {
reason = g_strdup ("running as root");
ret = FALSE;
goto out;
}*/
close nano ( ctrl + x) and save changes.
now

cd ..
dpkg-checkbuilddeps

if there are any dependencies install them with apt-get..
when all dependencies are installed:

dpkg-buildpackage
now it will tell you that there are some changes in the source code so you have to type:

dpkg-source --commit
now you have to name your change, name it how you want it and hit enter, after that it will open some text file just type in :q and hit enter.
after that type again:

dpkg-buildpackage
wait until it's done

cd ..
dpkg --install gnome-screensaver_3.4.1-1_i386.deb

and make sure that /etc/pam.d/gnome-screensaver looks like this:

@include common-auth
auth optional pam_gnome_keyring.so
And that's it, enjoy :D

aru
2013-04-10, 14:40
> apt-get source gnome-screensaver

hmmm, that want's to deinstall "gnome-core", sounds like it might break something?

mustu
2013-04-11, 06:27
UPDATE: This bug has been assigned and updated is expected soon. http://bugs.kali.org/view.php?id=245

sector-seven
2013-04-11, 10:56
not working bro :(

Gman
2013-04-11, 13:19
Is worked fine for me but when I did apt-get update and apt-get upgrade, it stopedt working...

mustu
2013-04-12, 08:52
Bug has been resolved. Patch to arrive soon http://bugs.kali.org/view.php?id=245

Hitman
2013-04-12, 10:11
I think we should wait for Kali Update to fix this bug

system_crash
2013-04-12, 13:27
It's fixed just perform apt-get update and apt-get upgrade.

charonsecurity
2013-04-12, 13:44
I know this isn't much help, but I'm using KDE 32Bit (self built, no special options), and there are no problems with the Lock Screen.
Edit* Oops just read in the bug link, that they were able to fix it yesterday, perhaps it has been rolled out already, or soon.

milehighinterceptor
2013-04-13, 11:44
what if you get locked out !! username and password not working after Gph install.. live dvd worked great .. something went wrong after grub install.. any suggestions fellas?

Hitman
2013-04-14, 07:03
Thanks @system_crash it works after update

tr0ve
2013-05-15, 08:13
Is this an issue where when you lock root it doesnt actually lock? I've noticed if i lock my root account and then move the mouse (even after waiting) it doesnt actually lock which is a slight concern. I'm assuming this will fix it?.