PDA

View Full Version : Installing Kali with XP (Dual boot)

sNova
2013-06-28, 10:53
HI,
I have a laptop with XP installed.My hard disk size is 150GB. Drive C contains XP's installation files and my installed program files,D is empty and E,F contains my data.Now I want to install Kali in drive D(size 30GB) which is already empty.How should I do it? I don't want my files and XP to change in any way.When I start my system I should be able to start XP or Kali as per my requirement.
I really don't know what to do.I am new to debian environment.Please can anybody tell me how do I install Kali?
very detailed info(step by step) will be appreciated.
Thanks in advance! :)

BTK
2013-07-07, 03:49
my advice...... download virtual box simulate your hard drive setup and have a play around

if you cba with that

delete all the partitions you are not using with gparted in kali live mode. then during the kali installation select guided use largest free space and follow the setup.

im sure there's a billion videos on youtube to help you better understand

maverik35
2013-07-11, 17:10
Need to download gparted, re-create the D partition as an ext4 filesystem partition. THen you are ready to go, one more thing, you need another partition, the swap one, so try to create the D partition as an extended one, then within the new extended partition, create 2 (kali and swap).

Swap is about 2gb and the rest for the other partition (kali).

I do not recommend VM's.

daedalus1776
2013-07-11, 22:54
my advice...... download virtual box simulate your hard drive setup and have a play around

If you just want to have a bit of a play, this is definitely the way to go. That way you won't be making any real changes to your HDD and you can just delete it when you're done. Of course, you'll want to have enough RAM to run two Operating Systems at the same time.