PDA

View Full Version : Kali ARM Raspberry - Metasploit - Aircrack

superjcvd
2013-08-12, 12:57
Hello,

I'm new to the Kali world.
Let me share my first impression and questions.

I wanted to play with my Raspberry pi 256 (rev2) and this cool Linux distribution.
I downloaded the last version of the ARM Raspberry image and copied it on my SD card.
And started using it. The boot process was OK and the system was running fine.

* First strange behavior : I don't have any file in the following folder : /lib/modules/
So it was not possible to load any external USB devices as Wifi dungles.
I followed the post number #9 here to solve the problem http://forums.kali.org/showthread.php?18146-wireless-not-showing-when-iwconfig-on-latest-1-0-4-on-rpi

* Second strange behavior : I tried to use 2 different USB Wireless adapatators in monitor mode
Every time I activate monitor mode with aircrack the Raspberry device totally freeze after 30s
I suspect a power problem that could be solve by adding a secondary USB power to the Wireless USB devices
http://www.amazon.fr (http://www.amazon.fr/gp/product/B000FKP7XA/ref=s9_simh_gw_p147_d0_i1?pf_rd_m=A1X6FK5RDHNB96&pf_rd_s=center-3&pf_rd_r=090PCTA68Z0729DGAEFP&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=312232987&pf_rd_i=405320)
If any one has an idea I will take it :o

* Third problem : if I try to run metasploit (msfconsole or msfd) It allways fail after a long laoding time with many 'Cannot allocate memory' errors
I tried to increase my available RAM memory with /boot/config.txt file (less memory for video and more for system) but whatever I put in the file the amount of available memory is allways 184M (default value)
I tried to upgrade the firmware but no more success.
Do you know what is the cause of the problem ? should I buy a new Raspberry with 512 Mo ?

If any one could help me or explain me what I'm doing wrong this would be great !

Processor : ARMv6-compatible processor rev 7 (v6l)
BogoMIPS : 697.95