PDA

View Full Version : pwnie pwnpad vs nethunter

tptronic
2014-10-21, 09:53
Whats the difference between pwnie pwnpad and nethunter? Which is better for pentest?

zerone.v01d
2014-10-21, 13:01
Personally I was got a pwnphone 2014 which is based on nexus5 and has android at front / kali linux at backgourd.(to be honest, its really costs me alot)
But, I wiped it couple days ago and turn to Nethunter.(So before that I was using pwnphone 2014 for about half years)

Here are the reasons(!! I am not a pro, so please correct me if there are mistakes or misunderstandings !!)
1. Both of them got kali linux at backend, and it is the most important tool we are using to do pentest.
2. Both of them have android at frontend, however, Nethunter support the latest android version, pwnie just support a certain version of android (no idea whether they update now or not)
3. Pwnie create many short cuts for kali tools at android end like SETtoolkits, Wifite..... But you can also run them on chroot at nethunter.
4. The most important reason for me is that, there are some functions pwnie does not have. (1)HID attack (2)Bad USB attack
5. Furthermore, I can run a local server to access web UI on nethunter, so that means I can run OpenVAS and metasploit community/pro on my phone. Probably I can do it on pwnie too, but I have no idea how to do that.
6. Besides, Personally I think nethunter is more flexible.
7. There maybe some special techniques are using by pwnie express (I think there maybe some difference on how pwn device tunneling back from target network compare with nethunter)
So I currently running nethunter on my nexus5.

kc_boom
2014-10-21, 13:26
I don't think you can use PWnie express for commercial use. So I guess you can only use Nethunter. pwnie should be under gpl license, so they cant make this restriction, so not too sure what is true. Not 100% familiar with licensing, so maybe someone else can confirm this.

tptronic
2014-11-01, 13:16