PDA

View Full Version : ifconfig wlan0 up “SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not possible due to RF-kill”



Kraako
2013-03-20, 18:52
Hello everyone,

I can't get my wifi working.

I have the exact same problem as this person

http://thelinuxexperiment.com/guinea-pigs/jon-f/querying-the-state-of-a-hardware-wifi-switch-with-rf-kill/

Also it set to "flight mode" and even though I turn it off it doesn't change.

when I type ifconfig wlan0 up I get the message “SIOCSIFFLAGS: Operation not possible due to RF-kill”

does anyone have any idea what I can do about this?

thanks in advance!

Best Wishes
Kraako

Kraako
2013-03-22, 20:48
Problem Solved, I removed the battery from my laptop and put it back in and then it worked :)

airwolf3000
2013-03-23, 13:50
If you are using the rtl8187 driver try the folloing:


rmmod rtl8187
rfkill block all
rfkill unblock all
modprobe rtl8187
rfkill unblock all
ifconfig wlan0 up

You can also copy the following scrip, make it execuable and run it as need it, just give a name easy for you to remember
then run in the teminal /root/[name of scrip]


#!/bin/bash
echo Remove RTL8187 Module
rmmod rtl8187
rfkill block all
rfkill unblock all
echo Add RTL8187 Module
modprobe rtl8187
rfkill unblock all
echo Bring wlan0 Up
ifconfig wlan0 up

That should do it

Kraako
2013-03-25, 02:55
Okay thanks :) I will try that out :)

marketingmaniac
2013-04-15, 16:27
You are an absolute Genius !,, not 1 person on any board solved this !,, and Kali doesn't have rfkill ,, YOUR SOLUTION WORKED 100% !!!! and was so simple, ,, lol,, take batery out,, man ow man,, after days of working on this.

packard
2013-04-17, 23:49
Not sure if it'll work for u, but i fixed the prob with this script:

#!/usr/bin/python
# replacement for rfkill util, which is missing in kali
# By: Geist

from sys import argv

if(argv[1] == "unblock"):
x = open("/sys/class/rfkill/rfkill%s/soft" % argv[2], "w")
x.seek(0)
x.write('0')
elif(argv[1] == "block"):
x = open("/sys/class/rfkill/rfkill%s/soft" % argv[2], "w")
x.seek(0)
x.write('1')


print("interface %s %sed" % (argv[2], argv[1]))

---

as you can plainly see, it's in python. Probably not as full featured as the real rfkill, but it does the job.

vonderaelic
2013-07-20, 15:20
I have the same probllem. I have rtl8192ce. rfkill says I have a hard block. My wifi button if it ever worked is not responsive. Nothing notable in dmesg. Tried all button combos I can think of. My media keys which are not wifi related no longer stay on when i hit them, god knows what they origionally did. Trying to locate the block via software but there are too many nails

Cod
2013-08-27, 08:21
APPLICATIONS MENU > SYSTEM TOOLS > PREFERENCES > SYSTEM SETTINGS

open NETWORKS

Now, toggle the AIRPLANE mode off and while it is still open (leave it alone) press your standby/power button. Let the system go into standby. Next resume the system and toggle your wifi button.

Worked for me.

rkh
2013-10-28, 23:08
APPLICATIONS MENU > SYSTEM TOOLS > PREFERENCES > SYSTEM SETTINGS

open NETWORKS

Now, toggle the AIRPLANE mode off and while it is still open (leave it alone) press your standby/power button. Let the system go into standby. Next resume the system and toggle your wifi button.

Worked for me.

you are a genius m8 ! worked for me