PDA

View Full Version : Missing proper screen resolution in VMWare after dist-upgrade to Kali 2017.3



hopes
2017-11-29, 09:42
I've performed a dist-upgrade on my Kali VM and everything works fine except for the screen resolution which defaults to 1280x768 instead of 1920x1080.

My setup:
Kali XFCE running inside VMWare hypervisor. Host is Windows 10 x64.


[root:~]# uname -a
Linux kali 4.13.0-kali1-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 4.13.13-1kali1 (2017-11-17) x86_64 GNU/Linux
[root:~]# cat /etc/os-release
PRETTY_NAME="Kali GNU/Linux Rolling"
NAME="Kali GNU/Linux"
ID=kali
VERSION="2017.3"
VERSION_ID="2017.3"
ID_LIKE=debian
ANSI_COLOR="1;31"
HOME_URL="http://www.kali.org/"
SUPPORT_URL="http://forums.kali.org/"
BUG_REPORT_URL="http://bugs.kali.org/"
[root:~]# cat /etc/issue
Kali GNU/Linux Rolling \n \l


Upgraded from Kali 2017.1 and kernel 4.0.9.

Not using vmware tools but open-vm-tools.

Everything else (copy and paste, shared folders, etc) work fine.

I have a simple init script which at the moment fixes the screen resolution:

#!/bin/bash
xrandr --newmode "1920x1080_60.00" 173.00 1920 2048 2248 2576 1080 1083 1088 1120 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode Virtual1 1920x1080_60.00
xrandr --output Virtual1 --mode 1920x1080_60.00

But I really don't know where/what to do inorder to natively fix it.
I see no warnings/errors in logs.

VMWare view has not been modified from its previous settings (Full Screen, Autofit Guest).

Anyone who can give me hints on how to debug this issue?

Thanks a lot

Mister_X
2017-11-29, 15:49
Have you upgraded the VM version itself (not Kali, the VM)? Without doing it, I can't get full screen to work

hopes
2017-11-30, 08:01
What do you mean by "upgrade the VM version itself"?
Update the VMWare Workstation version?

hopes
2017-12-06, 12:50
It seems libresolutionSet.so is not loaded at all on my system now:


[root:~]# ps -aux | grep vm
root 299 0.0 0.0 4220 820 ? Ss 13:21 0:00 fusermount -o rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,allow_other,auto_unmount,su btype=vmhgfs-fuse -- /mnt/hgfs
root 300 0.0 0.0 233276 912 ? Ssl 13:21 0:00 vmhgfs-fuse .host:/ /mnt/hgfs -o rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,allow_other,uid=1000,gid=10 00,auto_unmount
root 937 0.4 0.3 236956 26248 ? S 13:24 0:00 /usr/bin/vmtoolsd -n vmusr
root 1188 0.0 0.0 12748 948 pts/0 S+ 13:26 0:00 grep --color=always vm



[root:~]# lsof -p 937 | grep libresolution
No output.

How can I fix this?
Thanks a lot

Alexen
2018-01-06, 00:45
I have exactly the same problem after the update, and create the screen resolution script but when restarting the virtual machine the resolution is changed, I understand that we have to add the script that is executed at the beginning, but in kali it is not that option in GUI format to add applications to be executed when starting kali