PDA

View Full Version : COMPLETE Newb

SW_PG_WM
2019-11-17, 05:08
I just downloaded kali and wireshark tonight. Complete newb to all this & relatively new to I.T.
After installing on Windows via virtualbox, I did an update on Fern WiFi and now I?m getting a error about not having Python 3. I DO have Py3 on my Windows, as I?ve been learning it on the side. But I realize that doesn?t mean it?s on the virtual machine/boxer. that hosts Linux. How do I fix this error? Please remember., I?m a newb.

Robertde12e
2019-12-03, 02:21
You need to install python3. Good luck with Fern all I could ever get it to do was search for targets perpetually.
Learn aircrack-ng.
Since you said your new wireshark and kali are probably going to let you down.
Unless you have access to the network password and if the target isnt using https or what not you are going to see a lot of things that dont amount to anything.
Also using kali on windows is a pain and I could never get anything with the wifi to work right, just install it to a USB Google install kali live USB devanswers just like written no space between dev and answers. Use universal USB installer not Rufus you'll be up and running.
Wireshark I want to go back to that. It's not something that works like listening to a phone call, if you get lucky and their is something unencrypted you have to find it. Look up how to use filters with wireshark. And if you where expecting to install kali put your card into monitor mode turn on wireshark and start reading packets it doesnt work that way. It doesnt just pull the packets out of the air and you can read them is what I'm saying. Check out the wireshark wiki.