PDA

View Full Version : eth0 network interface not showing



sunday74
2020-01-30, 19:14
Please help me out.
Before, it usually have the eth0 interface but i just realized at a point when i wanted to spoof my mac address that the eth0 interface is not there and when i use live booting from my flash drive, the eth0 interface is always there but on my main harddisk drive, it's no where to be found.

Here are the details with ifconfig

ifconfig
lo: flags=73<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING> mtu 65536
inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 255.0.0.0
inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x10<host>
loop txqueuelen 1000 (Local Loopback)
RX packets 192 bytes 15412 (15.0 KiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 192 bytes 15412 (15.0 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

ppp0: flags=4305<UP,POINTOPOINT,RUNNING,NOARP,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
inet 10.3.44.110 netmask 255.255.255.255 destination 0.0.0.0
ppp txqueuelen 3 (Point-to-Point Protocol)
RX packets 4877 bytes 3654341 (3.4 MiB)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 4599 bytes 758194 (740.4 KiB)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

wlan0: flags=4099<UP,BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
ether 8e:0c:db:bc:51:29 txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
RX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
TX packets 0 bytes 0 (0.0 B)
TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0


Thanks for your anticipated contributions

rollercoaster
2020-01-31, 22:36
ifconfig is long deprecated, don't use it. Use 'ip' instead. To know if your interface is even detected, issue:

ip link

if it is, followit up with:

ip -4 addr

and it will tell you any interfaces that are up and allocated with an IP.

Your old eth0 could have been renamed to something different like enpXXX.

Mister_X
2020-02-02, 00:30
It may be down. Interfaces that are down aren't displayed by ifconfig, you have to append the -a parameter.