PDA

View Full Version : Wireless adapters not picking up wireless networks

yanglee92
2020-04-06, 02:39
Good day to all,

Please excuse my ignorance as I am new to Kali Linux and to the forums. If there is another thread already, please point me in the right direction.

I have Kali Linux2020.1 installed onto a virtual box for both PC and Laptop and both are experiencing the same issue.

My Wireless products:
Alfa AWUS036NH
Alfa AWUS036ACH
Panda Wireless PAU09

Virtual Box USB and NETWORK settings:
USB 3.0 enabled and USB device was added within USB under settings called Ralink 802.11 n WLAN or Realtek(This is for the PandaWireless)

I disabled my network adapters for Kali Linux VM because I want to simulate me working on the outside trying to find vulnerabilities to a network.
I tried installing the drivers for those products into kali linuc but issue persisted.

As I launch my Kali and I enter "airmon-ng start wlan0" command, it does not pick up my wireless adapter.
I tried running command "airodump-ng wlan0mon" but it does not pick up any networks.
I tried running wireless attacks > Fern wireless cracker and it was able to pick up my wireless card(wlan0).
---------------------------------------

What I did try was looking my issue up on youtube and they said I have to download and install an old compat wireless
compat-wireless-2010-06-26-p.tar.bz2 and that help with my wireless adapter to be seen so I can run the "airmon-ng start wlan0" to
put my wireless adapter in monitor mode and "airodump-ng wlan0mon" to run be able to run a scan.

Main issue: When running Airodump command: It is scanning for wireless networks now, but its not picking up any WEP/WPA when my wifi laptop is picking up
wireless networks all over.
This happened both at my work and at home with 3 separate wireless adapters.

Does anyone else get this as well?

Please advise.

fitfaizan
2020-04-10, 17:48