PDA

View Full Version : How do i get wireshark to run in promiscuous mode in vmware



imabuvu
2013-05-11, 23:24
How do i get wireshark to run in promiscuous mode in vmware - i already have it bridged and not nat and i still can't capture any traffic but my laptop

brav0hax
2013-05-11, 23:34
Don't mean to be a ****, but have you tried Google?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=How+do+i+get+wireshark+to+run+in+promiscuous+mo de+in+vmware&l=1

Thanks,
Eric

imabuvu
2013-05-12, 00:19
Yes i tried google but there doesn't seem to be much there - do you have a solution

brav0hax
2013-05-12, 02:53
Did you click the link I provided and look at the first one? Did that work for you? It steps you through what to do on the local Linux system.

I run vmware on MacBook and normally I get a prompt to enter my MacBook pass to enable promisc mode. But I have not tried directly from wireshark.

Update:
OK so all I did was fire up wireshark in my Kali VM, slected eth0 and my macbook prompted me to enter a password to enable promiscuous mode.

imabuvu
2013-05-12, 16:32
I use vmplayer - Not vm workstation - I forgot to specify that

forumkali@yopmail.com
2014-05-30, 12:18
Don't mean to be a ****, but have you tried Google?

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=How+do+i+get+wireshark+to+run+in+promiscuous+mo de+in+vmware&l=1

Thanks,
Eric

Ironic that lmgtfy shows this post as the 2nd search result. Google will often bring back results from forums such as this one, so let's not be jerks and help this guy out?

I think the problem is mainly due to the way your physical WiFi adapter is presented to the virtual machine in VMware Player. If you can download a trial of VMware Workstation as you can definitely set promiscuous mode with that, and if that fails you might need to use USB passthrough with a compatible USB WiFi adapter, or just boot from the Kali ISO.