Hi Lobster,
Try again and don't install the linux headers (step #5). It did work for me.
If not then, welcome to the nut house! ;)
Hi Lobster,
Try again and don't install the linux headers (step #5). It did work for me.
If not then, welcome to the nut house! ;)
Installing the headers should not be an issue. There has been a few posts lately about failed installs and 404 errors with the repos. I'm thinking that a few of the mirrors are out of date and this is causing some partial installs or some failed installs.
The thing about uname -r to install a kernel is that is checks the current running kernel and installs the header based on that.
if you updated from an older kernal and didn't reboot, the command linux-headers-$(uname -r) will install the headers for the older kernel.
What do you see if you run any of the following
apt-get install --dry-run linux-headers-3.18.0-kali1-amd64
apt-cache search linux-headers
Quote:
root@kali:~# apt-get install --dry-run linux-headers-3.18.0-kali1-amd64
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
linux-headers-3.18.0-kali1-amd64 is already the newest version.
linux-headers-3.18.0-kali1-amd64 set to manually installed.
The following package was automatically installed and is no longer required:
libafpclient0
Use 'apt-get autoremove' to remove it.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
I'm thinking about butting out and jump a version or two untill 2.0 ... Anyways let me know if you want me to checkout anything friend :)Quote:
root@kali:~# apt-cache search linux-headers
linux-headers-3.18.0-kali1-all - All header files for Linux 3.18 (meta-package)
linux-headers-3.18.0-kali1-all-amd64 - All header files for Linux 3.18 (meta-package)
linux-headers-3.18.0-kali1-amd64 - Header files for Linux 3.18.0-kali1-amd64
linux-headers-3.18.0-kali1-common - Common header files for Linux 3.18.0-kali1
linux-headers-amd64 - Header files for Linux amd64 configuration (meta-package)
I ran into that "Unable to load kernel module" from the NVIDIA installer (completely randomly)
Looks like it's an issue with the installer not unloading the nouveau module.
Unload it yourself after stopping the gdm3 service with:
modprobe -r nouveau
and then run
./NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-346.47.run --dkms -Z (note the big Z)
Works :cool:
I should have known. Especially since the NVIDIA install was warning me(sometimes) about nouveau.
That unsolved mystery solved, what is your take on the new cudaHashcat? I'm very skeptical about the makers(atom) claim that it works better and that everything is "fine", when the benchmark takes twice as long as before.
If anyone has comparative benchmark(any) between 1.31 and 1.33 please share. Still waiting for anyone saying that 1.33 runs better than 1.31 :confused:
Here is my comparision
Decent difference there. It's clear that 1.31 is much faster than 1.33.Code:cudahashcat 1.31 example wordlist.
Session.Name...: cudaHashcat
Status.........: Exhausted
Input.Base.....: Mask (?a?a?a?a) [4]
Input.Mod......: File (example.dict)
Hash.Target....: File (example0.hash)
Hash.Type......: MD5
Time.Started...: 0 secs
Time.Estimated.: 0 secs
Speed.GPU.#1...: 62193.8 kH/s
Recovered......: 2190/6494 (33.72%) Digests, 0/1 (0.00%) Salts
Progress.......: 136302297088/136302297088 (100.00%)
Skipped........: 0/136302297088 (0.00%)
Rejected.......: 0/136302297088 (0.00%)
HWMon.GPU.#1...: -1% Util, 70c Temp, -1% Fan
Started: Tue Mar 3 13:18:58 2015
Stopped: Tue Mar 3 13:25:21 2015
cudahashcat 1.33
Session.Name...: cudaHashcat
Status.........: Exhausted
Input.Left.....: Mask (?a?a?a?a) [4]
Input.Right....: File (example.dict)
Hash.Target....: File (example0.hash)
Hash.Type......: MD5
Time.Started...: Tue Mar 3 13:28:33 2015 (12 mins, 15 secs)
Time.Estimated.: 0 secs
Speed.GPU.#1...: 185.8 MH/s
Recovered......: 2190/6494 (33.72%) Digests, 0/1 (0.00%) Salts
Progress.......: 136302297088/136302297088 (100.00%)
Skipped........: 0/136302297088 (0.00%)
Rejected.......: 0/136302297088 (0.00%)
HWMon.GPU.#1...: -1% Util, 66c Temp, -1% Fan
Started: Tue Mar 3 13:28:33 2015
Stopped: Tue Mar 3 13:40:52 2015
I'm using CUDA 6.0 and the latest NVIDIA driver (I get better performance on the older CUDA)
I'll put the 1.31 link back up again.
Thank you staticn0de & Quest, I got it installed and it was the nouveau module causing the problem, I appreciate the help greatly.
I can now concentrate on obtaining my sanity once again!
atom basically says that 1.33 is faster in real life. When pointed out that a benchmark IS real life, he replied that it's just a script. Unfortunately I was never successful cracking a .hccap file with cudaHashcat, so I cannot compare the two versions. If someone does have such comparative sessions please post. I asked over at http://hashcat.net/ for anyone to post comparative benchmarks. No one did.
Ok you have me doubting about 6.5 now. What is your benchmark to test CUDA? The one we usually do with the "Result = PASS" ?
but wait... now that everything seems to be back to normal for installing the headers and NVIDIA, the GRUB boot menu has 4 entries..
can anyone point me to the form to signup for the nut house please?Quote:
Kali GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.18.0-kali3-amd64
Kali GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.18.0-kali3-amd64 (recovery mode)
Kali GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.18.0-kali1-amd64
Kali GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.18.0-kali1-amd64 (recovery mode)
Record what you need now. If you don't get a login screen when you close gdm3, press [Ctrl]+[Alt]+[F1]
Unload the Nouveau module after stopping the gdm3 service with:Code:/etc/init.d/gdm3 stop
Now the NVIDIA install.Code:modprobe -r nouveau
cd ~
<--Cap [Z]Code:./NVIDIA*.run --dkms -Z
- Accept the EULA
- Nouveau disabled Yes
- Files written Ok
- Register the kernel Yes
- WARNING 32-bit libraries Ok
- Install the libvdpau libraries Ok
…the install will take place
x Run the nvidia-xconfig No
- Installation complete Ok
or [Ctrl]+[Alt]+[Del]Code:shutdown -r now
https://hashcat.net/forum/thread-4161.html
Quote:
How to deal with small wordlists
With oclHashcat v1.32 we added the AMP kernel that compute the password candidates on GPU. That had one advantage and one disadvantage.
The advantage was that you can now get full cracking speed even for the faster ones of the slow hashes like md5crypt because there's no bottleneck on the candidate generator engine.
...
http://hashcat.net/forum/thread-4162.html
so i dunno. Confusing. Went from "everything is normal" to "actually slower". Hopefully they will get it sorted out with 1.34Quote:
I've reproduced the case, it's actually slower. Thanks for reporting!
But no worries, I already found the reason and fixed it. The bitmaps were optimized to run faster on a different hashlist size (much smaller one), but I an see that hashlist size around 500k is what we deal most of the time.
modprobe -r nouveau
FATAL: nouveau is in use
how can i ?
so v1.1.0a solved all my kernel problems. All is back to normal.
Now we seem to have a new error message after running modprobe -r nouveau (with gdm3 being shut down)..
no consequence though. Everything installed :cool:Quote:
[ 872.758616] nouveau E[ PFIFO] [0000:01:00.0] SCHED_ERROR [ UNK00 ]
[ 872.758698] nouveau E[ PFIFO] [0000:01:00.0] ...
...
- Post#4 (off-line install) is good.
- Waiting for cHc 1.34. No one has reported better performances under 1.33 so that's an X-file :confused:
...in the latest news...
no one knows how to install or run maskprocessor/linux over @ http://hashcat.net/forum/ :D and their wiki is useless.
If anyone knows how to install maskprocessor in kali, let me know.
Hey quest, what fails for you when you try and install?
hi friend!
actually it's not to install it(like previously thought), but it's a dependency problem..
returnsCode::~# cd /usr/share/cudahashcat/ && ./mp64.bin -q 3 -r 4 ?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d
further inquiry indicates that wheezy uses 2.13. So I will try to modify my sources.list with a jessie repo to get libc6_2.19-15_amd64.deb and libc6-dev_2.19-15_amd64.deb, because to install those package manually got ugly.Code:./mp64.bin: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.14' not found (required by ./mp64.bin)
I thought I was out of the woods with 1.1.0a... Never a dull moment i tell ya.
Try my custom deb:
https://mega.co.nz/#!NIslBaaL!tHP5tI...Enq8LzoEHIape8
test it with
mp64 -q 3 -r 4 ?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d
it works, but why is it, if I move the mp64.bin into the cudahashcat dir I get this..
That's my problem.Quote:
~# cd /usr/share/maskprocessor-0.73 && ./mp64.bin -q 3 -r 4 ?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d
./mp64.bin: /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.14' not found (required by ./mp64.bin)
Why are you moving it into a new directory? The directory "cd /usr/share/maskprocessor-0.73" is not where that deb installs it
I move my mp64.bin file all over the place and it works fine each time. I compiled it with the kali native glibc.
If you are seeing that error, are you sure that you are using the file from my deb, and not the binary you can download off the web?
what I'm trying to do:
markov chains is very efficient at creating words, but still spews out things like "arocassse" or with numbers "aroca7999". The odds of 3 repetitions for a human generated password are slim to none. I'm trying to eliminate those useless words using maskprocessor with the arguments '-q' and '-r' as those options are not included with cudahashcat.
-q 3 = no more than 1 repetition. Ex: aa
-r 4 = no more than 3 of the same char. Ex: aXaXa
ok so it's pretty simple, but when trying to pipe maskprocessor in cudahashcat it doesn't work in linux.
One solution proposed was to place mp64 in the cudahashcat dir. That is why I was trying that.
That was my original syntax, and since I've tried many..
Code:cd /usr/share/cudahashcat/usr/share/maskprocessor && ./mp64.bin -q 3 -r 4 ?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d | cd /usr/share/cudahashcat/ && ./cudaHashcat64.bin -w 3 -t 10 -m 2500 /root/capture.hccap -a 3
Works here with the following syntax. Also, I saw your other thread about handshakes and I captured mine as soon as the deauth packet was sent so I don't know why you are having problems.
Code:root@kali ~$ mp64 -q 3 -r 4 ?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d?d | optirun cudahashcat64 -m 2500 ~/out.hccap 2 ↵
cudaHashcat v1.31 starting...
Device #1: GeForce GT 740M, 2047MB, 1032Mhz, 2MCU
Device #1: WARNING! Kernel exec timeout is not disabled, it might cause you errors of code 702
Hashes: 1 hashes; 1 unique digests, 1 unique salts
Bitmaps: 8 bits, 256 entries, 0x000000ff mask, 1024 bytes
Rules: 1
Applicable Optimizers:
* Zero-Byte
* Single-Hash
* Single-Salt
Watchdog: Temperature abort trigger set to 90c
Watchdog: Temperature retain trigger set to 80c
Device #1: Kernel ./kernels/4318/m02500.sm_35.64.ptx
Device #1: Kernel ./kernels/4318/bzero.64.ptx
Starting attack in stdin mode...
Session.Name...: cudaHashcat
Status.........: Running
Input.Mode.....: Pipe
Hash.Target....: TESTROUTER IM:AM:AC:AD:DR <-> SE:CE:RE:T:MA:CC)
Hash.Type......: WPA/WPA2
Time.Started...: Tue Mar 17 16:14:19 2015 (9 secs)
Speed.GPU.#1...: 15393 H/s
Recovered......: 0/1 (0.00%) Digests, 0/1 (0.00%) Salts
Progress.......: 151552
Skipped........: 0
Rejected.......: 0
HWMon.GPU.#1...: -1% Util, 71c Temp, -1% Fan
Session.Name...: cudaHashcat
Status.........: Running
Input.Mode.....: Pipe
Hash.Target....: TESTROUTER IM:AM:AC:AD:DR <-> SE:CE:RE:T:MA:CC)
Hash.Type......: WPA/WPA2
Time.Started...: Tue Mar 17 16:14:19 2015 (19 secs)
Speed.GPU.#1...: 15435 H/s
Recovered......: 0/1 (0.00%) Digests, 0/1 (0.00%) Salts
Progress.......: 303104
Skipped........: 0
Rejected.......: 0
HWMon.GPU.#1...: -1% Util, 75c Temp, -1% Fan
Session.Name...: cudaHashcat
Status.........: Aborted
Input.Mode.....: Pipe
Hash.Target....: TESTROUTER IM:AM:AC:AD:DR <-> SE:CE:RE:T:MA:CC)
Hash.Type......: WPA/WPA2
Time.Started...: Tue Mar 17 16:14:19 2015 (24 secs)
Speed.GPU.#1...: 15420 H/s
Recovered......: 0/1 (0.00%) Digests, 0/1 (0.00%) Salts
Progress.......: 352256
Skipped........: 0
Rejected.......: 0
HWMon.GPU.#1...: -1% Util, 68c Temp, -1% Fan
Started: Tue Mar 17 16:14:19 2015
Stopped: Tue Mar 17 16:14:43 2015
Great guide - keep up the good work.
I have a new system that I plan to run the latest Kali 1.1.0, which has installed the GeForce GTX 970. This guide looks like a great reference for getting started, but considering this isn't a laptop with Optimus enabled I'm not sure this will work for me. I tried following blackmoreops instructions http://www.blackmoreops.com/2015/02/.../#comment-2758 , but keep getting a solid black screen w/o the cursor after my reboot (see comments in the link for reference to my comments there).
Has anyone been successful on a non-optimus with these instructions or have a different resource for the proper instructions? My Google-foo did not produce anything worth-while.
:)
yes and thanks. Basically I was trying to make it do something that it was not supposed to do, which is to keep the '-t' argument and limit char recurrence with 'r' and 'q'. That failed. The rest of my problems were just me having another linux esoteric experience.
that's another can of worms. Just read the last post from mmusket33. He's having a linux paranormal experience of his own :D
meh, it's interesting, and the nurses here in the nuthouse are nice..
Hi there,
I don't have any nvidia cards in my desktop installs so I can't write a guide for you.
It should be much the same. As in, update fully, Install Kali Linux headers, chmod the nvidia installer, install the driver and then actually run nvidia-xconfig.
Include the - - dkms and - Z flag on the installer.
Edit: I had a look at BMO guide, without checking it is possible that the drivers from the repo are too old for your modern card.
Hit control + all + f2 for another console and check dmesg when it tries to load your nvidia module.
Otherwise, grab the nvidia installer from the nvidia website like the guide here uses.
1.34 http://hashcat.net/oclhashcat/ :)
Hello, I'm having some issues that I'm not entirely sure are actual issues. I've followed the install procedure to the letter, and glxspheres64 runs without issue. However When I reach the final step I reach an impasse. I've created a pastebin account, and did the troubleshooting steps (find it here: http://pastebin.com/cwpA6XNz )
Hardware:
Lenovo ideapad y580
Intel HD4000 integrated
Nvidia gtx 660M
Intel I7 quad core 64 bit
I'm assuming I could continue with the optional installs, however I'm loathe to continue without having dealt with the errors. Any assistance would be appreciated greatly.
Thank you
*Couldn't delete*
*Couldn't delete*
Thanks for linking Quest, I'm uploading a new deb now.
Edit:
Uploaded:
https://mega.co.nz/#!0Z9DHBob!0QA3cl...iBwBepiYgWZbew
MD5
e611e16ab1f3c42c5e98d3ef615a0cd4
well thank you...
Are you sitting down right now? http://hashcat.net/oclhashcat/
:p
And.... done! again.
On the plus side, I changed the compression type and reduced the file size by 20% which is awesome.
https://mega.co.nz/#!dN8ESI7D!-jxoTZ...SOnkrNvxpDuNNg
md5sum
ccdc7ebf4c4a947d14fa663a982e3c10
xD
AH YES 100mb smaller! Downloading now. :cool: Thank you.
Hey, I have a problem with installing CUDA. I'm trying this with package for ubuntu 14.04 and 12.04 but for both I got the same warning massage:
You wrote to grab x64 package, but in table i see only Linux x86, maby thats the point.Code:***WARNING: Incomplete installation! This installation did not install the CUDA Driver. A driver of version at least 346.00 is required for CUDA 7.0 functionality to work.
To install the driver using this installer, run the following command, replacing <CudaInstaller> with the name of this run file:
sudo <CudaInstaller>.run -silent -driver
There is my test
There is my modinfoCode:Polygons in scene: 62464 (61 spheres * 1024 polys/spheres)
Visual ID of window: 0x21
Context is Direct
OpenGL Renderer: GeForce GT 740M/PCIe/SSE2
253.956557 frames/sec - 213.506356 Mpixels/sec
253.252170 frames/sec - 212.914165 Mpixels/sec
254.893954 frames/sec - 214.294445 Mpixels/sec
254.001783 frames/sec - 213.544379 Mpixels/sec
254.973161 frames/sec - 214.361036 Mpixels/sec
254.204086 frames/sec - 213.714460 Mpixels/sec
254.366610 frames/sec - 213.851096 Mpixels/sec
254.329671 frames/sec - 213.820041 Mpixels/sec
253.751591 frames/sec - 213.334037 Mpixels/sec
254.276085 frames/sec - 213.774990 Mpixels/sec
I checked gcc version:Code:filename: /lib/modules/3.18.0-kali3-amd64/kernel/drivers/video/nvidia.ko
alias: char-major-195-*
version: 346.47
supported: external
license: NVIDIA
alias: pci:v000010DEd00000E00sv*sd*bc04sc80i00*
alias: pci:v000010DEd00000AA3sv*sd*bc0Bsc40i00*
alias: pci:v000010DEd*sv*sd*bc03sc02i00*
alias: pci:v000010DEd*sv*sd*bc03sc00i00*
depends: drm,i2c-core
vermagic: 3.18.0-kali3-amd64 SMP mod_unload modversions
parm: NVreg_Mobile:int
parm: NVreg_ResmanDebugLevel:int
parm: NVreg_RmLogonRC:int
parm: NVreg_ModifyDeviceFiles:int
parm: NVreg_DeviceFileUID:int
parm: NVreg_DeviceFileGID:int
parm: NVreg_DeviceFileMode:int
parm: NVreg_RemapLimit:int
parm: NVreg_UpdateMemoryTypes:int
parm: NVreg_InitializeSystemMemoryAllocations:int
parm: NVreg_UsePageAttributeTable:int
parm: NVreg_MapRegistersEarly:int
parm: NVreg_RegisterForACPIEvents:int
parm: NVreg_CheckPCIConfigSpace:int
parm: NVreg_EnablePCIeGen3:int
parm: NVreg_EnableMSI:int
parm: NVreg_MemoryPoolSize:int
parm: NVreg_RegistryDwords:charp
parm: NVreg_RmMsg:charp
parm: NVreg_AssignGpus:charp
So i should be abble to run this 12.04 package.Code:gcc (Debian 4.7.2-5) 4.7.2
I'm w8ing for your opinions about this problem and hope some solutions.
Hi there and welcome to the forum.
I'm taking a wild guess that you are trying to install the latest CUDA (version 7). Did you happen to use this link?
http://developer.download.nvidia.com...0.28_linux.run
CUDA can't find the version of the driver you currently have installed.
Did you follow the message provided by the installer?
You don't want to use the --driver flag as it will already be installed if you followed the guide.
I haven't downloaded the CUDA 7.0 installer yet (it's going now). Try the --help flag on your cuda*.run installer and look for a flag that will disable the driver check.
If you can't find one, --override should do it.
Edit: If you see that message at the end of the install (as in CUDA has installed samples and all that goodness) just ignore the message. You didn't really post what you were doing at the time so I'm not sure how to help.
Thanks, staticn0de, for respond. Sorry for uncomplet description of problem, I'm going to suplement this now.
Yes, I was running exactly step by step through your guide till moment of CUDA installation. And I'm trying to do so with latest (cuda-7.0). Now with installer from your link. I understand that i don't need to use --driver. I was looking for flag to disable the driver check, but i didn't find any. Also tried --override, but this didn't help me.
Yes, this message appears at the end of installation. I'm new in useing CUDA technology, so for me message: "This installation did not install the CUDA Driver." is critical, and i received "CUDA Driver" as critical part of installation, meaning, for me, that I can't use this technology. So I started to find the way out.
But if you suggests me to ignore this message, as it appears at the end of installation informations, I'll set up dynamic linker for CUDA and try to build some samples to check it out.
I'll notify the results here soon.
No worries TheSeed.
You don't need CUDA to ins the driver as we already installed it. All we need from CUDA is the toolkit and the samples.
Sorry guys, didn't realize there was moderator approval for posts and didn't mean to post 3 times. lesson learned lol