Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Grub2 Loop Boot Solution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Apr
    Posts
    1

    Grub2 Loop Boot Solution

    I maintain a flash disk full of ISOs, which I loop boot through grub2 and a custom grub.cfg. Since I'm sure I'm not the only one, and because there doesn't seem to be any documentation, I'd like to share my menuentry for anyone else who wants the same thing (I have seen at least one person asking on these forums).

    Code:
    menuentry "Kali Linux 1.0 amd64" {
        iso="/kali-linux-1.0-amd64.iso"
        bootoptions="findiso=$iso boot=live noconfig=sudo username=root hostname=kali quiet splash"
        search --set -f $iso
        loopback loop $iso
        linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz $bootoptions
        initrd (loop)/live/initrd.img
    }
    menuentry "Kali Linux 1.0 amd64 (forensic)" {
        iso="/kali-linux-1.0-amd64.iso"
        bootoptions="findiso=$iso boot=live noconfig=sudo username=root hostname=kali noswap noautomount"
        search --set -f $iso
        loopback loop $iso
        linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz $bootoptions
        initrd (loop)/live/initrd.img
    }

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-Dec
    Posts
    2
    Hello. I edited above mentioned menuentry. (only title, and path to iso)

    Code:
    menuentry "Kali Linux" {
        iso="/iso/kali.iso"
        bootoptions="findiso=$iso boot=live noconfig=sudo username=root hostname=kali quiet splash"
        search --set -f $iso
        loopback loop $iso
        linux (loop)/live/vmlinuz $bootoptions
        initrd (loop)/live/initrd.img
    }
    it seems like it is able to find kernel, but after several seconds (quick shifting text lines appear) it freeze at blank screen.
    im trying boot Kali (i386 version) from harddisk (sda1)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2013-Dec
    Posts
    2
    Kali 1.0.6 is booting whit out any problem...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    1
    Hi everyone,
    I tried above menuentry (and manual boot from grub 1.99rc1) but it doesn't work for me. I get message:

    Booting a command list

    error: unknown command 'search'
    error: no such disk
    error: no such disk
    error: you need to load the kernel first

    I understand I have to show grub the right path, but how can I substitute command "search"?
    Thanks for help.

Similar Threads

  1. Kali Linux 2020 GRUB2 boot order and theme change
    By Miha1l in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2020-07-20, 17:32
  2. Boot Loop
    By r3bu5 in forum Installing NetHunter
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2016-12-22, 12:54
  3. How can I add windows 7 to boot in Grub2 manually?
    By zorrohere in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2015-08-16, 15:27

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •