Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: How to install Emerald, Beryl, Compiz, etc. post how-to's here!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    12

    How to install Emerald, Beryl, Compiz, etc. post how-to's here!

    i am trying to figure out how to install these on kali linux.

    they are simple to install in slackware, ubuntu, or the normal debian distros. but since kali is extra **** built up on the debian distro it's a little different. if anybody knows how post here

  2. Please remember the makers of Kali intended it to be a Pen Test platform, intentionally keeping it streamlined for that purpose. So adding other features may require a a few more steps than usual. If Kali isn't working for you, Ubuntu or Mint might be a good alternative. With that said;
    http://wiki.debian.org/Compiz

    Short version;
    deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib
    apt-get -t sid install compiz
    Fact, Science and the Pursuit of Knowledge. Working to secure your networks from threats; Outside and Within.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    12
    of course, you dont want your ram to get overloaded by a bunch of gui ****, or your cpu to run to hot.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2013-Apr
    Posts
    1
    In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:

    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 09)
    Here is my way to get compiz working:
    1. Add repo to sources (as root):

    Code:
    echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
    2. Configure APT (as root):

    Code:
    echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf
    3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):

    Code:
    apt-get update
    apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager
    4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):

    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2013-May
    Posts
    1

    Quote Originally Posted by klmnxr View Post
    In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:



    Here is my way to get compiz working:
    1. Add repo to sources (as root):

    Code:
    echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
    2. Configure APT (as root):

    Code:
    echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf
    3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):

    Code:
    apt-get update
    apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager
    4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):

    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.


    Working Like A Charm Thank You So Much

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by klmnxr View Post
    In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:



    Here is my way to get compiz working:
    1. Add repo to sources (as root):

    Code:
    echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
    2. Configure APT (as root):

    Code:
    echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf
    3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):

    Code:
    apt-get update
    apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager
    4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):

    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.

    I had my compiz + emerald working great! did an update with the repos etc. and now "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib HAS EXPIRED"

    THIS TOTALLY SCREWED UP MY SYSTEM, I HAD TO DO A RE-INSTALL LOL and now due to the new release of Debian the old Repo mentioned above is EXPIRED and in the new source compiz has been removed

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2013-May
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by S373N View Post
    I had my compiz + emerald working great! did an update with the repos etc. and now "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib HAS EXPIRED"

    THIS TOTALLY SCREWED UP MY SYSTEM, I HAD TO DO A RE-INSTALL LOL and now due to the new release of Debian the old Repo mentioned above is EXPIRED and in the new source compiz has been removed
    Doing fine over here so far.

    What does "-t" do? I did apt-get alone to see what the options were but -t was not listed. -?-

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by klmnxr View Post
    In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:



    Here is my way to get compiz working:
    1. Add repo to sources (as root):

    Code:
    echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
    2. Configure APT (as root):

    Code:
    echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf
    3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):

    Code:
    apt-get update
    apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager
    4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):

    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.
    Hey man, everytime i try your method i get this error whenever i use apt-get install... "E: The value 'testing' is invalid for APT:efault-Release as such a release is not available in the sources"

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2013-Jun
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by klmnxr View Post
    In my laptop (Dell Vostro 3350) I have integrated Intel GMA graphic card in CPU, so I don't have to struggle with other nVidia/AMD drivers:



    Here is my way to get compiz working:
    1. Add repo to sources (as root):

    Code:
    echo "deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib" >> /etc/apt/sources.list
    2. Configure APT (as root):

    Code:
    echo 'APT::Default-Release "testing";' >> /etc/apt/apt.conf
    3. Install compiz from Sid repo (as root):

    Code:
    apt-get update
    apt-get -t sid install compiz compiz-fusion-plugins-extra compizconfig-settings-manager
    4. Replace your default WM with Compiz (as user):

    Code:
    compiz --replace
    Now you can configure Compiz via CCSM. located in "Programs" -> "System Tools" (?) -> Preferences.

    compiz successfully installed by using this method,, The issue is when I want to install conky with this code "sudo apt-get install conky conky-all" then the result like this "Reading package lists... Done
    E: The value 'testing' is invalid for APT:: Default-Release as such a release is not available in the sources" please help me anyone that can fix this problem... sorry if my english not good...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2013-May
    Posts
    4
    compiz no longer seems possible to install using both methods .. Or maybe some 1 has a workaround they would like to share ; )

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2013-Aug
    Posts
    1
    cat /proc/version
    Linux version 3.7-trunk-686-pae ([email protected]) (gcc version 4.7.2 (Debian 4.7.2-5) ) #1 SMP Debian 3.7.2-0+kali8

    Package compiz is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source

    Package compizconfig-settings-manager is not available, but is referred to by another package.
    This may mean that the package is missing, has been obsoleted, or
    is only available from another source

    E: Package 'compiz' has no installation candidate
    E: Не удалось найти пакет compiz-fusion-plugins-extra
    E: Package 'compizconfig-settings-manager' has no installation candidate


    #

    # deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 7.0 _Kali_ - Official Snapshot i386 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20130425-11:12]/ kali contrib main non-free

    #deb cdrom:[Debian GNU/Linux 7.0 _Kali_ - Official Snapshot i386 LIVE/INSTALL Binary 20130425-11:12]/ kali contrib main non-free

    ## Security updates
    deb http://security.kali.org/kali-security kali/updates main contrib non-free
    deb http://ftp.ru.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib
    deb http://http.kali.org/kali kali main contrib non-free
    deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ sid main non-free contrib


    not worked

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2013-May
    Posts
    4
    It seems compiz has been pulled from the repos altogether , and it must be for a good reason (ie) unstable unmaintained or for some reasons other. But the main thing is this its not for nothing , the guys at kali have done in a great job over the years from Backtrack all the way through to Kali . Ill say this b4 some 1 flames me ; )) Kali is for pen-testing and it does the job not only well but is also FREE even though free comes at a price , we all know it takes time PERSONAL time and effort and lots of it to make it the best in its class in my opinion , so my faith stays in them , but its also a great way to learn , sure the eye candy was great and even some of the greats on here have used it at some point .,,, no names we all seen the videos ; ) and yes we could use another distro like Ubuntu etc . But here is thing i like learning things and not just clicking on some icon so il plod away try things and probably break things along the way but the most important thing ive learned so far is that when you use Backtrack or Kali there are NO rules just opinions . So stay tuned to the forums read up a lot and who knows some 1 might figure it out ohh and the late nights copious amounts of coffee and being a keyboard warrior don't really help they just keep you up longer .

Similar Threads

  1. how to install compiz on Kali 1.0.4 No sid repo!
    By Devil_D in forum How-To Archive
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 2017-04-04, 00:35
  2. Fail to install Compiz
    By photomancia in forum General Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-08-20, 10:44

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •