Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Change MAC - TP-Link wn722n(c)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Posts
    2

    Question Change MAC - TP-Link wn722n(c)

    Hi

    I'm running Kali as a VM in Vmware (esxi), using direct path to serve the VM my wifi-dongle.
    It's a TP-Link wn722nc and Kali recognize this adapter as wlan0.

    Injection etc is working with the default driver so that's good.

    Now .. I'm having problems changing the MAC on the adapter
    and also I can't change TXpower using the two methods in other post.
    I've tries using macchanger and directly with ifconfig, but no success
    and the error message in all cases goes like "Invalid argument ...."


    Are there other drivers to use that will enable this functionality,
    or am I doomed to buy another adapter?

    Anyone .. ?

  2. Quote Originally Posted by aztech View Post
    and the error message in all cases goes like "Invalid argument ...."
    Can you please show us what commands you are using?
    Fact, Science and the Pursuit of Knowledge. Working to secure your networks from threats; Outside and Within.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Posts
    2
    Hi

    I was actually successful at last, to change the MAC of the adapter, but still not change TXpower.

    Code:
    root@kali:~# ifconfig wlan0 down
    root@kali:~# macchanger -r wlan0
    Permanent MAC: a0:f3:c1:2X:XX:XX (unknown)
    Current   MAC: a0:f3:c1:2X:XX:XX (unknown)
    New       MAC: 64:29:fe:cb:e6:87 (unknown)
    TXpower errors

    Code:
    # method 1
    root@kali:~# ifconfig wlan0 down
    root@kali:~# iw reg set BO
    root@kali:~# ifconfig wlan0 up
    root@kali:~# iwconfig wlan0 channel 13
    root@kali:~# iwconfig wlan0 txpower 30
    Error for wireless request "Set Tx Power" (8B26) :
        SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.
    
    # method 2
    root@kali:~# iw reg set BO
    root@kali:~# iwconfig wlan0 txpower 30
    Error for wireless request "Set Tx Power" (8B26) :
        SET failed on device wlan0 ; Invalid argument.
    System information
    Code:
    root@kali:~# iwconfig
    wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:off/any  
              Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.472 GHz  Access Point: Not-Associated   
              Tx-Power=20 dBm   
              Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
              Encryption key:off
              Power Management:off
    
    root@kali:~# iw reg get
    country BO:
    	(2402 - 2482 @ 40), (N/A, 30)
    	(5735 - 5835 @ 40), (N/A, 30)
    
    root@kali:~# lsmod | grep ath
    ath9k_htc              43135  0 
    ath9k_common           12649  1 ath9k_htc
    ath9k_hw              313625  2 ath9k_common,ath9k_htc
    ath                    17154  3 ath9k_common,ath9k_htc,ath9k_hw
    mac80211              287461  1 ath9k_htc
    cfg80211              123887  3 ath,mac80211,ath9k_htc
    usbcore               109555  4 uhci_hcd,ehci_hcd,usbhid,ath9k_htc

  4. Well it looks like the commands you are issuing for the txpower are correct. It is possible that your wireless card has the limitation hard-coded into its chipset (some unfortunately do).
    Fact, Science and the Pursuit of Knowledge. Working to secure your networks from threats; Outside and Within.

  5. #5
    You can also change the MAC address of the wireless adapter using ifconfig.
    First bring down the interface:
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    Change the MAC address using ifconfig:
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 hw ether DE:AD:BE:EF:FE:ED
    Bring the interface back up:
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    Check out the status and information of the interface:
    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    15
    Hi,
    I can confirm that the TP-LINK WN722 is already at its maximum coded power level.
    There is no way to increase it...unfortunately.

    But, its a pretty good card (and stable) to work with Kali's purposes.
    Best,

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Tirn View Post
    There is no way to increase it...unfortunately.
    That's not actually true, unless it's reporting incorrectly to me. (In case anyone stumbles accross this thread looking for answers).

    I've boosted mine to 30 dbm using this guide:

    https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...er-Boost-Guide

    Following the guide I changed 'WORLD' and 'CN' regions to have the same restrictions as 'BO'. CN because whenever I plug my card in it's region is set to CN for some reason. Now whenever I plug my card in it's txpower is always 30 dbm.

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by rob151515 View Post
    That's not actually true, unless it's reporting incorrectly to me. (In case anyone stumbles accross this thread looking for answers).

    I've boosted mine to 30 dbm using this guide:
    hey rob,
    I tried the same guide with my wn722n.
    didn't work - can you share more about your experience?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2015-Jun
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by rob151515 View Post
    That's not actually true, unless it's reporting incorrectly to me. (In case anyone stumbles accross this thread looking for answers).

    I've boosted mine to 30 dbm using this guide:

    https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...er-Boost-Guide

    Following the guide I changed 'WORLD' and 'CN' regions to have the same restrictions as 'BO'. CN because whenever I plug my card in it's region is set to CN for some reason. Now whenever I plug my card in it's txpower is always 30 dbm.
    Thanks, it's worked for me with second chance after change the whole db

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2015-Jun
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by wn722 View Post
    hey rob,
    I tried the same guide with my wn722n.
    didn't work - can you share more about your experience?
    Rob said change the "world" he mean change the all countries in db
    It worked and my tl722n now have txpower 30
    Thank you rob

Similar Threads

  1. Raspberry Pi 3 and TP Link WN722N v2
    By ScaredasHell in forum ARM Archive
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2017-07-26, 20:56
  2. TP link WN722N
    By sebfiesta in forum NetHunter General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2016-05-09, 09:23
  3. TP-LINK WN722N works great, TP-LINK WN822N does not.
    By Diluted in forum NetHunter General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-01-29, 23:55

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •