Thread: Can you recommend a VM disk size and manual partitioning layout, etc.?

Can you recommend a VM disk size and manual partitioning layout, etc.?

I'm installing Kali as a virtual machine. I have plenty of host, hard drive space AND RAM so I can make my Kali VM pretty much however I'd like it to be.

1.) Can someone recommend a specific size of VM hard drive to make so I won't "outgrow" my install? I want to make sure I have plenty of drive and partition space to do updates, etc., and not run out of space.

I've installed FreeBSD many times and I'm comfortable with it, but I've never used Debian before.

2.) Can someone recommend a partitioning layout as well as file system types to make each partition and also volume labels?

3.) Memory amount? 2GB, 4GB, 8GB, etc.?

Thank you!

Ed

Quote Originally Posted by edflecko View Post
    I'm installing Kali as a virtual machine. I have plenty of host, hard drive space AND RAM so I can make my Kali VM pretty much however I'd like it to be.

1.) Can someone recommend a specific size of VM hard drive to make so I won't "outgrow" my install? I want to make sure I have plenty of drive and partition space to do updates, etc., and not run out of space.

I've installed FreeBSD many times and I'm comfortable with it, but I've never used Debian before.

2.) Can someone recommend a partitioning layout as well as file system types to make each partition and also volume labels?

3.) Memory amount? 2GB, 4GB, 8GB, etc.?

Thank you!

Ed

First, hopefully your BIOS allows you to enable virtualization unless your Kali is 32-bit. Secondly, I've had success time after time with getting Kali up and running inside a VM (VMWare, Virtual Machine (oracle) ) and I used 1024 mb which is equal to 1GB so 2GB should be sufficient. You can also check the VM documentation which you are using to further your decision.

Hope this was helpful.
    Hop
    Every ethical hacker must have a place to practice and explore.