Thread: Issues while trying to install Kali on Win8 (tried in every known way to me)

Unhappy Issues while trying to install Kali on Win8 (tried in every known way to me)

Please, bear with me, I'm pretty new to Linux, not to mention Kali.
    What my specs are is in my signature :)

Don't know where to turn for help, so I've posted it here, I hope I haven't missed the forum section!

I've downloaded the latest version of Kali (1.0.5) and when I make a bootable USB stick it won't boot from it.
    Then I went into the BIOS and changed the boot order and guess what! nothing happens -.-"

Then I've raped 'Esc' on boot for it to load the 'Boot Loader' (? don't remember it's exact name, sorry), I selected the USB stick manually but then a black screen appeared telling me that there is no OS present(on the USB stick)???

When I mount the iso manually via Deamon tools and try to it says 'This program doesn't support windows 6.2.9200 sp0 yet '
    And yet I heard that people had installed Kali on Win8.

Then I tried to install it with VirtualBox (OS: linux, Distro: Debian (and I tried it with Linux 2.6+, too)), I assigned it 4Gb of RAM and 20Gb of my SSD for it to run, of course, then I went and selected the iso, launched it and then got this error message:

Failed to open a session for the virtual machine Kali.

VT-x is not available. (VERR_VMX_NO_VMX).

Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
    Component: Console
    Interface: IConsole {8ab7c520-2442-4b66-8d74-4ff1e195d2b6}

Pretty much all of the knowledge I have regarding how to install it, I wouldn't be posting a thread if I wasn't at the limit of the help that google can provide me.

I read (the link is down there) that it was because the secure boot option was enabled, I tried disabling it, but no tile appears for the UEFI Firmware setting in the charms menu (whatever it's called)
    When I get into BIOS, I can't find anything that says to enable or disable anything regarding UEFi.