Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 50 of 80

Thread: Aircrack channel -1 after apt-get upgrade?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    520

    Aircrack channel -1 after apt-get upgrade?

    Hey guys, I have an Alfa AWUS036H and some other generic rtl8192cu wireless adapter and yesterday after I can apt-get update and apt-get upgrade (along with apt-get dist-upgrade), both adapters report fixed channel -1 but ONLY when I specify a channel. I running a 64-bit bit version of Kali in VirtualBox with all the latest updates, etc. I also noticed that when I installed the updates, it added new drivers I think for my two cards... any ideas? Thanks!

    EDIT: I reinstalled linux headers and the guest additions so now I have the screen resolution back and USB 3.0 support etc. but the problem still exists. Also, when I go to boot up the system, grub reports 4 installs of Kali, 1 and 2 are Kali 3.1.2 (I think) 64 bit regular and recovery and 3 and 4 are 3.7 regular an recovery. There are also four or 5 other options for something about Memory tests. How do I know which one to use and how do I remove the others (minus the corresponding recovery mode)????
    Last edited by soxrok2212; 2014-01-10 at 02:43.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    17
    same problem here

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    world wide
    Posts
    9
    Push the thread*

    After clean install of 1.06 I get the fixed channel -1 , too

    --ignore-negative-one isnt a solution for me, while I cant deauth any Clients from AP

    In 1.05 I didn't have this problem.

    I use a Alfa AWUS036H too

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    301
    Quote Originally Posted by f0xp View Post
    Push the thread*

    After clean install of 1.06 I get the fixed channel -1 , too

    --ignore-negative-one isnt a solution for me, while I cant deauth any Clients from AP

    In 1.05 I didn't have this problem.

    I use a Alfa AWUS036H too
    hi
    same here
    it may be helpful to BE SOLVED:
    in my
    ** kali 1.06x64 HDD install (upgrade from 1.05) NOT HAVE PROBLEM!!!!!
    kali 1.06x32 vmware player 6.01 (upgrade from 1.05) HAVE PROBLEM!!!!
    kali 1.06x64 virtualbox 4.3.6 (fresh install) HAVE PROBLEM!!!!!

    PS: the provisional """""FIX""" --ignore-negative-one worked in airodump-ng && aireplay-ng
    Last edited by zimmaro; 2014-01-27 at 11:13.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    same problem here due to upgrade from 1.0.5 to 1.0.6. But i will post a solution soon
    Last edited by J0K3R-BHS; 2014-02-01 at 11:15.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    520
    Any word on a fix? It's kinda aggravating...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    14
    Same problem here on a fresh kali 1.06

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23

    Cool Fixed :-)

    kali linux 1.0.6 has kernel 3.12 but i came across with aircrack-ng channel -1 error.
    Some people are going back to kali's old kernel 3.7 or wheezy's kernel 3.2.
    but why to play with old toy when you can fix the new one

    here is the fix

    Code:
    cd /usr/src/
    Code:
    sudo wget https://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/projects/backports/stable/v3.12/backports-3.12-1.tar.bz2
    Code:
    tar xvf backports-3.12-1.tar.bz2
    Code:
    cd backports-3.12-1
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install patch
    Code:
    sudo wget http://patches.aircrack-ng.org/mac80211.compat08082009.wl_frag+ack_v1.patch
    Code:
    sudo patch -p1 < mac80211.compat08082009.wl_frag+ack_v1.patch
    Code:
    sudo apt-get install libncurses5-dev
    Now check your wireless driver first, mine is ath9k. The simplest way to check yours is by typing airmon-ng in terminal.

    USE ONE THE FOLLOWING COMMANDS TO SELECT YOUR REVELENT WIRELESS CARD DRIVER, NOT ALL OF THEM !!!

    (IN MY CASE IT IS make defconfig-ath9k)

    Code:
    make defconfig-alx
    make defconfig-ar5523
    make defconfig-ath10k
    make defconfig-ath5k
    make defconfig-ath6kl
    make defconfig-ath9k
    make defconfig-b43
    make defconfig-b43legacy
    make defconfig-brcmfmac
    make defconfig-brcmsmac
    make defconfig-carl9170
    make defconfig-drm
    make defconfig-ieee802154
    make defconfig-iwlwifi
    make defconfig-media
    make defconfig-nfc
    make defconfig-regulator
    make defconfig-rtlwifi
    make defconfig-wifi
    make defconfig-wil6210
    Now

    Code:
    sudo make
    Code:
    sudo make install
    Code:
    reboot
    enjoy !!!!

    I have also reported this bug to kali's bugs section

    Injection Rates are awesome

    I have also made a thread here

    http://black-hat-sec.org/index.php?topic=175.0

    Regards J0K3R
    Last edited by J0K3R-BHS; 2014-02-19 at 09:34.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    301
    Quote Originally Posted by J0K3R-BHS View Post
    kali linux 1.0.6 has kernel 3.12 but i came across with aircrack-ng channel -1 error.
    Some people are going back to kali's old kernel 3.7 or wheezy's kernel 3.2.
    but why to play with old toy when you can fix the new one

    here is the fix

    cd /usr/src/

    sudo wget https://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/ker...3.12-1.tar.bz2

    tar xvf backports-3.12-1.tar.bz2

    cd backports-3.12-1

    sudo apt-get install patch

    sudo wget http://patches.aircrack-ng.org/mac80...g+ack_v1.patch

    sudo patch -p1 < mac80211.compat08082009.wl_frag+ack_v1.patch

    sudo make menuconfig

    sudo make

    sudo make install

    reboot

    enjoy !!!!

    I have also reported this bug to kali's bugs section

    Injection Rates are awesome

    I have also made a thread here

    http://black-hat-sec.org/index.php?topic=175.0

    Regards J0K3R
    hi
    thanks for your appreciate help!
    i've test on my kali 1.06 x64(virtualbox)fresh install update/upgrade ,but i'm not expert & retrivied an error during "compiling"
    https://vimeo.com/85514141
    thanks in advanced!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by J0K3R-BHS View Post
    sudo make menuconfig
    When i use the command above, it shows me the following error:
    root@E33:/usr/src/backports-3.12-1# sudo make menuconfig
    Generating local configuration database from kernel ... done.
    cc -Wall -Wmissing-prototypes -Wstrict-prototypes -O2 -fomit-frame-pointer -DCURSES_LOC="<ncurses.h>" -DLOCALE -c -o mconf.o mconf.c
    In file included from mconf.c:23:0:
    lxdialog/dialog.h:38:21: fatal error: ncurses.h: No such file or directory
    compilation terminated.
    make[2]: *** [mconf.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [menuconfig] Error 2
    make: *** [menuconfig] Error 2
    Is there a way to sort this out?

    Regards

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    yeah here is they way

    try this if you get error(sudo apt-get install libncurses5-dev)
    then do theses steps

    sudo make menuconfig

    sudo make

    sudo make install

    i have updated my previous post

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    yeah zimmaro, i have updated my post,

  13. #13
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    43
    hello
    you need libncurses5-dev


    Quote Originally Posted by lee_can View Post
    When i use the command above, it shows me the following error:


    Is there a way to sort this out?

    Regards

  14. #14
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    301
    Quote Originally Posted by J0K3R-BHS View Post
    yeah zimmaro, i have updated my post,
    thanks!!man && thanks to hausoo

  15. #15
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    98
    according to one of the admins run "airmon-ng check kill" befor attacking will fix this problem but it disables NetorkMonitor.
    Smile while you can for in the future there my be nothing to smile about.
    申し訳ありませんが、これは翻訳することができませんでした。

  16. #16
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by shaberu View Post
    according to one of the admins run "airmon-ng check kill" befor attacking will fix this problem but it disables NetorkMonitor.
    it does not fix the problem forever, you still need to patch your wireless kernel

  17. #17
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    17
    Hi guys,
    to those who have upgraded their kali from 1.0.5 to 1.0.6 : you should still have 3.7-trunk kernel. when booting use it, instead of 3.12 that was provided.
    to those who have installed fresh install of 1.0.6: you can follow up J0K3R-BHS's short tutorial.he has done wonderful work and it works fine.
    thanks J0K3R-BHS.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by br0k3ngl@55 View Post
    Hi guys,
    to those who have upgraded their kali from 1.0.5 to 1.0.6 : you should still have 3.7-trunk kernel. when booting use it, instead of 3.12 that was provided.
    to those who have installed fresh install of 1.0.6: you can follow up J0K3R-BHS's short tutorial.he has done wonderful work and it works fine.
    thanks J0K3R-BHS.
    welcome mates, kernel 3.12 is far more better than 3.7 in wireless testing, it's injection rates are awesome

  19. #19
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    98
    Quote Originally Posted by J0K3R-BHS View Post
    kali linux 1.0.6 has kernel 3.12 but i came across with aircrack-ng channel -1 error.
    Some people are going back to kali's old kernel 3.7 or wheezy's kernel 3.2.
    but why to play with old toy when you can fix the new one

    here is the fix

    cd /usr/src/

    sudo wget https://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/ker...3.12-1.tar.bz2

    tar xvf backports-3.12-1.tar.bz2

    cd backports-3.12-1

    sudo apt-get install patch

    sudo wget http://patches.aircrack-ng.org/mac80...g+ack_v1.patch

    sudo patch -p1 < mac80211.compat08082009.wl_frag+ack_v1.patch

    sudo apt-get install libncurses5-dev

    sudo make menuconfig

    sudo make

    sudo make install

    reboot

    enjoy !!!!

    I have also reported this bug to kali's bugs section

    Injection Rates are awesome

    I have also made a thread here

    http://black-hat-sec.org/index.php?topic=175.0

    Regards J0K3R

    can you help apply this patch to an updated iso build? so i can have it on my live usb
    Smile while you can for in the future there my be nothing to smile about.
    申し訳ありませんが、これは翻訳することができませんでした。

  20. #20
    Join Date
    2014-Feb
    Posts
    1
    Sometimes move does this too

  21. #21
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by shaberu View Post
    can you help apply this patch to an updated iso build? so i can have it on my live usb
    1.update/upgrade your distro
    2.install necessary tools/packages
    3.apply the patch
    4.Remastersys It.
    Download these files from the link below and install them and modify the refracta config file and backup your distro

    refractasnapshot-gui_9.0.9-8_all.deb
    refractasnapshot-base_9.0.9-7_all.deb
    refractainstaller-base_9.0.8-4_all.deb
    refractainstaller-gui_9.0.8-3_all.deb
    http://sourceforge.net/projects/refracta/files/tools/

    enjoy !!!
    i have also made my custom distro, cannot post youtube video link,
    here are details

    https://www.black-hat-sec.org

  22. #22
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by J0K3R-BHS View Post
    yeah here is they way

    try this if you get error(sudo apt-get install libncurses5-dev)
    i have updated my previous post
    Thanks man,
    installation work properly, but still when ever i used channel in airodump-ng mon0, it appears the -1 channel for mon0.

    for example:
    airodump-ng --bssid XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX mon0 works fine,

    but with
    airodump-ng -c 11 mon0, i got the following:
    CH 11 ][ Elapsed: 8 s ][ 2014-02-05 09:06 ][ fixed channel mon0: -1
    Does anyone facing the same?

    Regards

  23. #23
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by lee_can View Post
    Thanks man,
    installation work properly, but still when ever i used channel in airodump-ng mon0, it appears the -1 channel for mon0.

    for example:
    airodump-ng --bssid XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX mon0 works fine,

    but with


    Does anyone facing the same?

    Regards
    which wireless card you have mate ?

  24. #24
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    if you know your wireless card you can patch specifically that driver,
    post your wireless card details then i'll post how to patch it

  25. #25
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by J0K3R-BHS View Post
    if you know your wireless card you can patch specifically that driver,
    post your wireless card details then i'll post how to patch it
    Appreciate your help man, thanks a lot.
    I am using Alfa wireless USB adapter, Model:AWUS036H

  26. #26
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by lee_can View Post
    Appreciate your help man, thanks a lot.
    I am using Alfa wireless USB adapter, Model:AWUS036H
    post your wireless card info,which chipset it is using???

    for example in my case


    root@ReUnion:~# airmon-ng


    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan1 Atheros AR9271 ath9k - [phy1]
    wlan0 Atheros AR9285 ath9k - [phy0]

  27. #27
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by J0K3R-BHS View Post
    post your wireless card info,which chipset it is using???
    Please find the following:

    Interface Chipset Driver

    wlan0 Realtek RTL8187L rtl8187 - [phy0]
    (monitor mode enabled on mon0)

  28. #28
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    520
    I'm still having the same problem, here is output from airmon-ng:

    Code:
    Interface               Chipset                Driver
    wlan0                   Realtek RTL8187        rtl8187 - [phy0]

  29. #29
    Join Date
    2014-Feb
    Posts
    1
    same problem here 1.06

  30. #30
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Posts
    56
    I had been having various problems with the AWUS036H/rtl driver so I decided to do a complete re-install on my VM machine
    but did not upgrade to 3.12 or install the aircrack beta (I noticed after I installed this I had problems) and everything now seems to be working as it should.

    Not sure if by not upgrading/installing these two items is the correct solution but it has worked for me - perhaps later
    I will try upgrading/installing each one in turn to see which, if any, has been the real problem.

    Rab.

  31. #31
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    Instructions for patching a specific driver have been updated

  32. #32
    Join Date
    2013-Nov
    Posts
    68
    Please help,

    I followed J0K3R-BHS's instructions and now all of my wifi cards are not show on the system.
    Where is the darn "any key" key?

  33. #33
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    what ???

  34. #34
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    which wireless card you are using ??

  35. #35
    Join Date
    2013-Nov
    Posts
    68
    I have the ath9k, a usb tp-link and a built in broadcom.

  36. #36
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by thepoor View Post
    I have the ath9k, a usb tp-link and a built in broadcom.
    i have the same ath9k tp-link usb WN-722N,

    use make defconfig-ath9k
    then
    make
    make install
    reboot,
    it is really simple

  37. #37
    Join Date
    2013-Nov
    Posts
    68
    Thank you, J0K3r-BHS. I re-ran the commands again and then everything back to normal. The funny thing was that I did that like 3 times yesterday but tried it again one today and it works.
    Where is the darn "any key" key?

  38. #38
    Join Date
    2013-Nov
    Posts
    68
    Sorry, to bother again. My TP-Link usb wireless card is working but my built-in broadcom is not. it's show when I ran lspci. how do i make it works but googled all day but haven't find a solution.

    Thanks,
    Where is the darn "any key" key?

  39. #39
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by thepoor View Post
    Sorry, to bother again. My TP-Link usb wireless card is working but my built-in broadcom is not. it's show when I ran lspci. how do i make it works but googled all day but haven't find a solution.

    Thanks,
    you have an hp mini 1000 ?

  40. #40
    Join Date
    2013-Nov
    Posts
    68
    I have a Dell Latitude E6500. I was on google all day yesterday and tried everything out there but it does not work.
    I tried modprobe wl and it gave error "Fatal error wl not found" I think I just reinstall Kali is quicker for me now.

    Thanks,
    Where is the darn "any key" key?

  41. #41
    Quote Originally Posted by br0k3ngl@55 View Post
    same problem here

    Yeah, I have problem too

  42. #42
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    520
    I followed your steps but now my AWUS036H interface is gone. Only shows up in lsusb. Any ideas?

  43. #43
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Location
    Lost On The Web
    Posts
    23
    Quote Originally Posted by soxrok2212 View Post
    I followed your steps but now my AWUS036H interface is gone. Only shows up in lsusb. Any ideas?
    use
    make defconfig-rtlwifi
    then
    make
    make install

  44. #44
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    520
    Precisely what I did, unless I'm not understanding what you mean by "then". I run
    Code:
    make defconfig-rtlwifi
    and when that finishes I run

    Code:
    make
    and when that finishes I run

    Code:
    make install
    Thanks for the help though!
    Last edited by soxrok2212; 2014-02-21 at 16:38.

  45. #45
    dataghost Guest
    i have followed Joker's guide many times with not luck, using ath9k card and rl2800usb, no matter what I do, i am getting the channel -1 error. Driving me crazy, followed the exact steps of his guide with no luck, the first time i did it the alfa usb no longer showed up only the ath9k, there was still the channel -1 error, when i use airmon-ng check kill, it doesnt give internet due to kicking the networkmanager off, please help me out

  46. #46
    Join Date
    2013-Apr
    Location
    LocalHost
    Posts
    4
    I did everything as expected, and when I do

    #: airmon-ng

    nothing shows up anymore.

    Kali 1.0.6 (x64) - VMWare
    AWSU036H

  47. #47
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Posts
    56
    Decided to bite the bullet and did a re-install on my VM but now I am getting this

    Code:
    root@kali:/usr/src/backports-3.12-1# make defconfig-rtlwifi
    /--------------
    | Your kernel headers are incomplete/not installed.
    | Please install kernel headers, including a .config
    | file or use the KLIB/KLIB_BUILD make variables to
    | set the kernel to build against, e.g.
    |   make KLIB=/lib/modules/3.1.7/
    | to compile/install for the installed kernel 3.1.7
    | (that isn't currently running.)
    \--
    make: *** [defconfig-rtlwifi] Error 1
    root@kali:/usr/src/backports-3.12-1#
    I am getting this error message - I am using 3.12 as can be seen here...
    Code:
    root@kali:~# uname -r
    3.12-kali1-686-pae
    Anyone, shed any light on this?

    Rab.

  48. #48
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    520
    Quote Originally Posted by flyinghaggis View Post
    Decided to bite the bullet and did a re-install on my VM but now I am getting this

    Code:
    root@kali:/usr/src/backports-3.12-1# make defconfig-rtlwifi
    /--------------
    | Your kernel headers are incomplete/not installed.
    | Please install kernel headers, including a .config
    | file or use the KLIB/KLIB_BUILD make variables to
    | set the kernel to build against, e.g.
    |   make KLIB=/lib/modules/3.1.7/
    | to compile/install for the installed kernel 3.1.7
    | (that isn't currently running.)
    \--
    make: *** [defconfig-rtlwifi] Error 1
    root@kali:/usr/src/backports-3.12-1#
    I am getting this error message - I am using 3.12 as can be seen here...
    Code:
    root@kali:~# uname -r
    3.12-kali1-686-pae
    Anyone, shed any light on this?

    Rab.
    Simply uninstall then reinstall your headers. Take the command from googling how to install guest adds ins and change install to remove and then reinstall them.

  49. #49
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Posts
    56
    Quote Originally Posted by soxrok2212 View Post
    Simply uninstall then reinstall your headers. Take the command from googling how to install guest adds ins and change install to remove and then reinstall them.
    Thanks for that.....
    but due to the problems with the upgrade to 1.06 decided to down grade to 1.05 again and touch wood not had any problems.

    Rab.

  50. #50
    Join Date
    2013-Apr
    Location
    LocalHost
    Posts
    4
    I tried this fix, but now my card doesn't show up anymore. please help.

    I did everything as expected, and when I do

    #: airmon-ng

    nothing shows up anymore.

    Kali 1.0.6 (x64) - VMWare
    AWSU036H

Similar Threads

  1. ra0 is on channel 1, but the AP uses channel 2
    By igli1 in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2016-05-10, 08:38
  2. Strange problems using Aircrack Suite after recent upgrade.
    By crypts3c in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-12-09, 18:45
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-03-26, 23:34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •