Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: [Question] Difference between raspberry and "regular" image

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    5

    [Question] Difference between raspberry and "regular" image

    Hi everyone,

    So basically I want to test my network and try to understand better how pentesting works.

    But sometimes you have to be patient, I have two routers at my home, one in WEP and the other one in WPA with WPS enabled, attacking the WEP one was fast, but the WPA one is more difficult and takes more time, but I have only a computer in my bedroom and I don't want it to be powered on all the time, in particular over night ...

    So I've deployed the 1.0.6 kali image on my raspberry but I don't understand why the desktop isn't the same as on the "regular" image

    There are a lot less tools that are pre-installed, why is that so ?

    Is there a way to get the exact same configuration than the "regular" kali onto my raspberry despite that the architecture is different ?

    Thank you in advance for you answers

    Regards,

    Azsde.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    5
    Hi Azsde,

    same problem here. Installed the 1.0.5 again where all tools are available.
    Updated the tools after installing with :

    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade

    Didn't try apt-get dist-upgrade because it think it may brake something.

    Regards,
    ms1oo

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by ms1oo View Post
    Hi Azsde,

    same problem here. Installed the 1.0.5 again where all tools are available.
    Updated the tools after installing with :

    apt-get update
    apt-get upgrade

    Didn't try apt-get dist-upgrade because it think it may brake something.

    Regards,
    ms1oo
    Unfortunatly i can't go back at 1.0.5 since my alfa wireless card won't work with this version

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2014-Jan
    Posts
    5
    Your are right, had the same problem. Solved it following:

    Use kali-linux-1.0-armel-raspberrypi.img
    Change partition size to use full SD, you will need about 1,5 GB for the updates

    apt-get update
    apt-get dist-upgrade

    Than I got following error:
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    /var/cache/apt/archives/libnfc5_1.7.0-3kali1_i386.deb
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)

    Fix it with:
    cd /var/cache/apt/archives
    dpkg -i --force-overwrite libnfc5_1.7.0-3kali1_armel.deb

    Continue upgrade configuration:
    dpkg --configure -a
    apt-get install kali-linux

    Done, fully updated kali with Alfa support :-)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2015-12-16, 18:48
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-09-26, 04:06
  3. "Debian Live image failed to boot" - Cannot mount /dev/loop0 ....
    By golfsoccer9 in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2014-06-07, 19:40

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •