Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: wifite wps pin attack, ifconfig and mac address changes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-Feb
    Posts
    7

    wifite wps pin attack, ifconfig and mac address changes

    Hello everyone.

    I used ifconfig to change the mac address of my wlan0 (ifconfig wlan0 down, ifconfig wlan0 hw ether ma:ca:dr:es:s0:12, ifconfig wlan0 up) and that worked without a problem.

    However when using wifite to run a wps pin attack on my own network (so I can see what's going on) I noticed that it still uses the hardware branded mac address for mon0.

    How to fix that and why does it do that?

    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    milano
    Posts
    301
    Quote Originally Posted by SoWeMeetAgain View Post
    Hello everyone.

    I used ifconfig to change the mac address of my wlan0 (ifconfig wlan0 down, ifconfig wlan0 hw ether ma:ca:dr:es:s0:12, ifconfig wlan0 up) and that worked without a problem.

    However when using wifite to run a wps pin attack on my own network (so I can see what's going on) I noticed that it still uses the hardware branded mac address for mon0.

    How to fix that and why does it do that?

    Thanks for any help
    I hope I have understood the question
    http://www.imagestime.com/show.php/925208_1.PNG.html

    @click_ONTO_zoOM
    Last edited by zimmaro; 2014-02-26 at 09:30.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2014-Feb
    Posts
    7
    Yes you understood right and thank you for your help!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    520
    Quote Originally Posted by SoWeMeetAgain View Post
    Hello everyone.

    I used ifconfig to change the mac address of my wlan0 (ifconfig wlan0 down, ifconfig wlan0 hw ether ma:ca:dr:es:s0:12, ifconfig wlan0 up) and that worked without a problem.

    However when using wifite to run a wps pin attack on my own network (so I can see what's going on) I noticed that it still uses the hardware branded mac address for mon0.

    How to fix that and why does it do that?

    Thanks for any help
    First, I hope you're not using ma:ca:dr:es:s0:12 as your actual spoof. Second, wifite does not include the switch in reaver to use custom mac addresses. Try reaver manually:

    Code:
    Reaver -i mon0 -c x -b xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx -vv --mac=vv:vv:vv:vv:vv:vv
    Where xx:xx is the Mac of the AP and vv:vv is your spoofed MAC address.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2014-Apr
    Posts
    1
    What happen if i use my real mac please

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2014-Feb
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by soxrok2212 View Post
    First, I hope you're not using ma:ca:dr:es:s0:12 as your actual spoof. Second, wifite does not include the switch in reaver to use custom mac addresses. Try reaver manually:

    Code:
    Reaver -i mon0 -c x -b xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx -vv --mac=vv:vv:vv:vv:vv:vv
    Where xx:xx is the Mac of the AP and vv:vv is your spoofed MAC address.
    obviously I am not using that as a spoof, it is not even a valid mac address
    thank you, will take a look at reaver

    while we're at it - any program that you can "easily" get to use a different mac address for each wps pin attack try?
    because some routers (mine apparently!) shut out a mac address for some time after a failed wps pin try

Similar Threads

  1. Using Crunch States Invalid Mac Address - Wifite List Too Long
    By lanane in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-09-12, 01:45

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •