Thread: My disk is broken,i need help to recover it

My disk is broken,i need help to recover it

When i try
    Fdisk -l
    it gives information on sda,sdb and sdc,but as soon as it needs to scan sdd it doesnt output anything(i waited 10 mins)
    as soon as i remove the sdd it finishes scanning

E2fsck -cfpv /dev/sdd
    also does nothing. It gives no output at all...
    I need the data from the disk,as info of some of my clients is stored there.
    And sadly,i'm no expert when it comes to drives
    Gpartitioner
    shows it as unalocated space,and is unable to write a partition table,and sometimes it doesnt even list sdd.

before it was broken it looked like this
    sdd
    sdd1 6.5gb ext4 persistence
    sdd5 1gb swap no label
    a bit unalocated space
    (also,can someone explain why swap is listed as sdd5 and not sdd2?)

if this helps you any

thanks in advance,LV

Hey

Can't anyone help me?
    I got most of the data back by requesting it from my clients again,but i still need the other part

not sure if this will work, but worth a try

dd your sdd to /home/image and run forensics tool on it

if you mount the image mount it as read only

i hope this helps
    “A goal without a plan is just a wish.”

“A goal without a plan is just a wish.”

Thanks mate,as soon as i'm home i'll try it

It worked,kinda

After more searching,i found redobackup-livecd. It has a nice tool for file recovery,and it sorta worked. I could see the paths on my disks,the files,and i managed to pull of some files,and most of them were files of kali linux itself. But the file i was after,is the one i wasnt able to recover.
    Anyway,i noticed strange behaviour when the disk was plugged in.
    1.bios failed to load when inserted
    2.tools like gparted search for loads of time(i actually only left it 25 mins) searching for volumes
    3.even the file recovery tool had problems,with trial and error i was able to find the disk listed (remove disk,put in again at exact time lol)