Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Install Kali Linux in Virtualbox

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    1

    Question Install Kali Linux in Virtualbox

    I tried to install Kali linux in virtualbox. I use Kali linux version 1.0.6. but every installation is already running 80%, the process has an error like this.

    Kali2resize.jpg

    does anyone know the solution?
    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    5
    I've installed Kali on VirtualBox 4.2.16

    You are using the Text Mode install if you are new in GNU/Linux try install with graphical mode and let all the options by default it's easy and fast


  3. #3
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    1
    Ive got the same problem. I do it in graphical mode and it appears the same error. Any solution?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    5
    Sorry for the late response, well I need more info about the VirtualBox configuration

    How much space do you asigned to the HDD? at least it must be 15GB

    In my Kali Vbox config is like, in the Kali config -> System:

    Tab: Motherboard
    RAM 1024MB
    Chipset: ICH9
    Enable IO APIC
    Enable UTC clock hardware
    Enable pointer device

    Tab: Procesor
    CPUs: 2
    enable PAE/NX

    Tab: Accelaration
    The two options here are enabled

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by Wiwin View Post
    I tried to install Kali linux in virtualbox. I use Kali linux version 1.0.6. but every installation is already running 80%, the process has an error like this.

    Kali2resize.jpg

    does anyone know the solution?
    thanks
    Need more info about the virtual machine specs.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    22

    Thumbs up Installation Step Failed

    Since when is the minimum 15GB?

    I've been trying to install Kali on VirutalBox and I've still had no success. :/

    This is all get: An installation step failed. Step "Install the System"

    What is the problem??

    Last edited by sdse; 2014-03-24 at 08:20. Reason: New Info

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    22
    Disregard this reply please...
    Last edited by sdse; 2014-03-24 at 08:20.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by tony View Post
    Sorry for the late response, well I need more info about the VirtualBox configuration

    How much space do you asigned to the HDD? at least it must be 15GB

    In my Kali Vbox config is like, in the Kali config -> System:

    Tab: Motherboard
    RAM 1024MB
    Chipset: ICH9
    Enable IO APIC
    Enable UTC clock hardware
    Enable pointer device

    Tab: Procesor
    CPUs: 2
    enable PAE/NX

    Tab: Accelaration
    The two options here are enabled
    Nice! This information turned out to be very good! Thanks Tony!

    I also used this: http://kanishkashowto.com/2013/09/03...by-step-guide/

    I think it's running now. I'm pretty stoked!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    22
    Quote Originally Posted by Priceler View Post
    Ive got the same problem. I do it in graphical mode and it appears the same error. Any solution?
    You must allocate over 15GB. I recommend 18GB+. If you don't, your installation will fail.

    Definitely follow Tony's insructions:

    In my Kali Vbox config is like, in the Kali config -> System:

    Tab: Motherboard
    RAM 1024MB
    Chipset: ICH9
    Enable IO APIC
    Enable UTC clock hardware
    Enable pointer device

    Tab: Procesor
    CPUs: 2
    enable PAE/NX

    Tab: Accelaration
    The two options here are enabled


    Good luck! Reply if you have problems!
    Last edited by sdse; 2014-03-24 at 08:27.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    5
    On my Vbox Kali linux installed occupies 10GB so I think 15GB in HDD it's fine, because all the majority apps are installed

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2014-Apr
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by sdse View Post
    Nice! This information turned out to be very good! Thanks Tony!

    I also used this: http://kanishkashowto.com/2013/09/03...by-step-guide/

    I think it's running now. I'm pretty stoked!
    i followed this and i keep getting failed to find medium format? any help?

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2014-Apr
    Posts
    2
    Could not get the storage format of the medium '/home/owner/Downloads/kali-linux-1.0.6-i386.iso' (VERR_NOT_SUPPORTED). this is the error i get. the VM is created and i go to load the image to it and get this how do i fix it?

  13. #13
    Quote Originally Posted by tony View Post
    I've installed Kali on VirtualBox 4.2.16

    You are using the Text Mode install if you are new in GNU/Linux try install with graphical mode and let all the options by default it's easy and fast

    Thanks brother

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2017-09-24, 23:06
  2. VirtualBox Kali Linux install error
    By superchampionoftheworld in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2016-04-02, 13:27
  3. Cannot install Kali Linux in VirtualBox on a Mac
    By PaulVillagra in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-10-17, 15:22

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •