Thread: Wireless card detected as ethernet when running Kali as guest in VM

Wireless card detected as ethernet when running Kali as guest in VM

Hello all,
    I am new to Kali Linux and just set up my virtual machine today. I have managed to get most aspects of networking working fine, but my wireless card (a built-in Realtek RTL8723AE) is detected as eth1 (my ethernet adapter is eth0). I am running Kali Linux version 1.0.6 with GNOME under VirtualBox 4.3.10. Normal internet access works fine, but the problem is that I cannot use airocrack-ng or other such tools, as I have no interface to put into monitor mode. In the VirtualBox settings, I have my wifi card set up as a bridged adapter with the Paravirtualized Network setting selected. Promiscuous mode is enabled on all networks.

I found some threads which seemed related, but I am not really sure of an answer. The first thread I found was here: https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...highlight=wlan. However, this deals with a USB dongle and the issue seems to be that the device is not supported for monitor/promiscuous mode (unless I misunderstood? I will admit freely to my lack of knowledge).

I also found this thread, which seems more helpful: http://askubuntu.com/questions/28201...ualboxs-ubuntu. However, the thread ends with this comment: "You will not have any wireless connection INSIDE the guest environment. They will all look like a wired one because VirtualBox right now has no way of creating a wireless virtual device. It only creates a wired one. – Luis Alvarado"

Is this true? Or is there some way to have the VM connect directly to the wireless adapter, without VirtualBox's fake "ethernet connection" as an intermediary?