Thread: Kali boots to a black screen if Eth0 does not have the ethernet adaptor plugged in.

Kali boots to a black screen if Eth0 does not have the ethernet adaptor plugged in.

Hello and thanks for taking the time to look at my question,
    I am afraid I am very new to Linux and probably should not be using Kali as my first local install, however I love to throw myself in far too deep as I tend to learn more if the process was hard
    Just to paint a picture of what you are dealing with, I am the sort of idiot who would attempt to learn skydiving after I have already left the plane and without a parachute, as for previous forays into Linux, I have used Ubuntu and Mint a few times previously inside of a VM on a Windows machine, but please don't take that information as a precursor to competence. Assume you are dealing with the bottom end of the IQ curve when providing instructions. I am the improved version of the fool who will look for an 'any key'...

The issue I have is quite simple and I suspect is an easy fix, When I installed Kali, I put in a static IP address so I could bypass a proxy to get direct internet access to make the install nice and easy. Fortunately everything worked and I have a desktop. The problem I am experiancing is as follows:
    If eth0 is disconnected, or the static address is already in use, I am stuck on a black screen with a white cursor in the top right of the screen.

The first thing I want to try is change the Static to a DHCP as I am hoping this will fix the issue, or at the very least I’ll get a link-local ipv4 address in the 169.254.x.x range and it will still boot to the desktop.

After a little Google Fu mixed with total & complete ignorance I believe if I change the etc\network\interfaces with leafpad from

Code:
    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
    auto lo