Thread: How to EFI install Kali Linux (Beginner Ways)

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

How to EFI install Kali Linux (Beginner Ways)

Hello, I am new to Kali Linux, and I just bought a laptop (Asus N56VJ-DH71) which runs UEFI system (my my, it costs me 2 days because of this).

Anyway, it was hard to install Kali Linux with the EFI system because you encounter some weird errors and you have to fix them manually.

I am going to write a complete guide here (I don't really know much, but I've followed most of the guides on Google and spent 2 days for it. So I might be able to get you out of desperating installing Kali in EFI system).

Installing with Normal ISO Kali file:

Requirements:
    • Internet (Wifi or Cable)
    • USB (4 GBs)
    • Rufus or Win32 Disk Imager (to make bootable USB)
    • EFI system (obviously, if you don't have EFI system, you can just install it normally)
    • 2 hours of your time

1. Download Kali Linux ISO with this link: http://www.kali.org/downloads/

2. Download Rufus or Win32 Disk Imager and make bootable USB with the Kali Linux ISO you just downloaded in step 1. See Picture.

3. Create a folder /EFI/Boot in your USB (You now have some data of Kali Linux in your USB already). See Picture.

4. Download bootx64.efi, MokManager.efi (don't know if this is needed, but I just do it anyway), and grubx64.efi from here: ftp://mirrors.kernel.org/fedora/rele...4/os/EFI/BOOT/
    then put them into /EFI/Boot folder you created in step 3.

5. Create a file named grub.cfg in /EFI/Boot in your USB with the following contents:
    Note: You can download the file here too: grub.txt. But make sure you put it into /EFI/Boot folder in your USB along with the 3 files in step 4 and change the name to grub.cfg. See Picture.

Code:
    # Config file for GRUB2 - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
    # /boot/grub/grub.cfg

# DEVICE NAME CONVERSIONS
    #
    # Linux Grub
    # -------------------------
    # /dev/fd0 (fd0)