Greetings Kali Users,

I wanted to stop in and announce a tool I've been working on for a little while and finally completed called Autosnort. If some of you in the infosec on twitter know me, I'm a packet analysis guy, and most of my background is in IDS, particularly snort. You may already be familiar with the project, but keep reading anyhow.

For those of you who have no idea what I'm talking about, I created a collection of relatively simple Linux shell (BASH) scripts designed to handle the heavy lifting involved in putting a stand-alone snort sensor together. In a nutshell Autosnort does the following:

-Installs system updates and pre-requisite packages required for compiling and running snort
-Pulls latest version of snort and DAQ (data acquisition libs) from snort.org and libdnet (required library for snort) from google code then compiles and installs each of them and configures snort properly (e.g. to the libraries it needs, rule files, config files, unifed2 output, etc.)
-Installs pulled pork (a rule management script by JJ Cummings), and uses to set up a "Security over Connectivity" rule installation.
-Pulls barnyard2 via git and handles installation compiling and configuration
-Supports installation of the following IDS consoles/output types:
--Symmetrix Technologies' Snort Report Web Console
--BASE Web Console
--Tactical Flex's Aanval Web Console
--Snorby Web console
--output of syslog_full messages to a syslog server or SIEM
--remote database connectivity (e.g. supports logging to a centralized IDS console and database)
--no interface at all