Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Kali 1.0.8 boot to command prompt only

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    75

    Question Kali 1.0.8 boot to command prompt only

    Hi

    I install on one pc Kali 1.0.8 and all working great and is booting to GUI.

    On my laptop i upgrade from 1.0.7 to 1.0.8 and then i got a boot menu that is giving me only command prompt and i can't get the GUI

    How can i fix this?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-Apr
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    315
    When in "command prompt" what happens when you type:

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/gdm3 start

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    75
    Pointer to TMDS table invalid and then i am getting the prompt for user and pass and then when i enter them i am getting the command prompt.

    Then i type there the: /etc/init.d/gdm3 start

    And i am getting a service warning for unit change on disk and system ctl reload recommend it ....something as i can't read it because after a second is gone and then blank screen with on top on the left this _ and nothing happend after this
    Last edited by pamamolf; 2014-08-02 at 08:35.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    8
    Hi

    I have the exact same problem like pamamolf.When I execute /etc/init.d/gdm3 start, I get this message:
    Starting gdm3 (via systemctl): gdm3.serviceWarning: Unit file of gdm3.service changed on disk, 'systemctl daemon-reload' recommended

    How can i fix this?

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Posts
    75
    Yes this is exactly what i am getting on my laptop

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Posts
    2
    Oh same with me, it start only in command prompt, and if i type:

    /etc/init.d/gdm3 start

    it say it will start, but then i get black Screen with blinking Cursor :-(

    anyone can help?

Similar Threads

  1. How To Log Command Prompt Windows
    By G3Cube in forum How-To Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2017-01-08, 00:16
  2. How to boot Kali from initramfs or Grub prompt
    By node in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2016-05-03, 19:45
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-01-27, 14:19

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •