Thread: Dual Boot Kali & Mac OS X (EFI and without refit/refind)

Dual Boot Kali & Mac OS X (EFI and without refit/refind)

Hello,

I have been using Kali as a live-usb for a couple of months now on Mac OS X. The other day I managed to get a refund on my almost 2 year old mac (that's a great story) and bought a brand spanking new one It's now time that I do a proper install. For the last couple of days I have been banging my head against the wall trying to get this to work. I have looked at this guide as well as numerous documents and forum posts around the internet. I did sorta manage to get it to work, albeit for 20 mins. It was dual booting perfectly until I tried to install the nvidia driver which sent the install nuts and somehow ended up in the first partition (which houses the .efi file) from being deleted.

I am also rather confused as a lot of the tutorials seem to be working on <1.0.8 which did not include EFI. Is there a simple way to achieve this that I have completely overlooked? Where does grub fit into the equation?

Could somebody please point me in the right direction?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by jabroon View Post
    Hello,

I have been using Kali as a live-usb for a couple of months now on Mac OS X. The other day I managed to get a refund on my almost 2 year old mac (that's a great story) and bought a brand spanking new one It's now time that I do a proper install. For the last couple of days I have been banging my head against the wall trying to get this to work. I have looked at this guide as well as numerous documents and forum posts around the internet. I did sorta manage to get it to work, albeit for 20 mins. It was dual booting perfectly until I tried to install the nvidia driver which sent the install nuts and somehow ended up in the first partition (which houses the .efi file) from being deleted.