Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Sound in VNC Kali Desktop

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-Sep
    Posts
    176

    Sound in VNC Kali Desktop

    This was submitted by 0E800:


    In case you want to have sound work on the Kali Xfce Desktop here is fix / work-around.

    The short of it is I could not get pulseaudio to work. Some error in main.c and the daemon not being able to run.

    You will have to install iceweasel and vlc. You will need to remove pulseaudio and install alsatools instead. You will need to change the vlc settings to use alsa mixer as default.

    Info adapted from: http://linuxg.net/how-to-properly-re...ebian-squeeze/

    From Kali terminal (no need to do this from within vnc)
    killall pulseaudio
    apt-get remove pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio libpulse-browse0 paman pavumeter pavucontrol
    (some packages might not be installed so wont be removed)
    rm ~/.pulse-cookie
    rm -r ~/.pulse
    apt-get install alsa-base alsa-tools alsa-tools-gui alsa-utils alsa-oss alsamixergui libalsaplayer0 iceweasel vlc

    Make VLC run as root:
    sed -i 's/geteuid/getppid/g' /usr/bin/vlc

    Reboot device

    Open VNC connection to Kali Xfce Desktop
    Open VLC
    Goto Tools -> Preferences
    Click on Audio tab/button
    Change Output module dropdown to: ALSA audio output
    Change Device dropdown to: tegra rt5640 Default Audio Device
    Save
    Exit Vlc.
    (might need to restart device)
    Audio should now play through speakers.

    This has only been tested on Nexus 7 - 2012. It should work for other devices, however Device might vary.

    https://github.com/offensive-securit...nter/issues/46

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-Oct
    Posts
    10
    I notice that using Iceweasel that there still is no sound in youtube. Above works for getting sounds to work in vlc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2014-Oct
    Posts
    3
    I have the same question. My previous phone was a pantech 9070, and I could run backtrack 5 on it through vnc. Had touch screen desktop. I haven't been able to do that with nethunter. Maybe I'm missing an image file

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2020-06-03, 07:45
  2. sound issue, after first 2 login attempts there is no sound
    By shadowknight in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2014-07-13, 19:19
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-03-19, 03:23
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-05-15, 20:10

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •