Thread: Having problems after installing Kali

Having problems after installing Kali

Im a noob to all this so please bare with me. I am trying to install Kali 1.0.9a amd64 on my system. After I get it installed, my system will boot up and right when I go to type in my user name my system will reboot. I am installing it with a usb thumb drive, and have used Win32DiskImager and Rufus and they both do the same thing after install. I have verified my copy of Kali and the checksums match. I have installed this exact same copy of Kali on an older system without any problems. Im thinking its a UFEI issue, seeing as how my older system doesnt have UFEI BIOS. The specs of the system Im trying to put it on are: Motherboard Msi FM2-A85XA-G65, CPU AMD A10-6800K Richland 4.1GHz BE, RAM Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

Could be an UEFI-problem, but since you can reach the login-screen and actually interact with it I think it's unlikely.

Can you live-boot Kali from the thumb drive? If so, mount the HDD and inspect the boot/kernel logs on it. They should contain some helpful information.

thanks for the help dhs. I tried to live-boot from the usb, but its doing the same thing. It will boot then Ill see the desk-top but the second I go to do anything it will reset.

can you disable EFI and swith back to an oldschool BIOS?

Hi there. I am new to forum and new to linux as well.
    I fallowed finids`s guide from here http://www.linuxbsdos.com/2013/03/24...-kali-linux/2/
    That is amassing guide and worked perfectly true proces of instalation.
    The problem is after when i try to log in into kali.
    I have no issues booting win7 and kali, bot loader are working fine. I am using lap top lenovo 50-30 and have instaled win 7 ultimate x64 in dual boot with kali 1.0.9a amd64.