Thread: [Red noob alert]Unable to USB boot Kali, system goes into black screen

Lightbulb [Red noob alert]Unable to USB boot Kali, system goes into black screen

Hello everyone, after three hours of staring at the black screen and trying to figure out what was going on, I finally decide to give up and hand the little problem over to the experts. The kali linux is everything that I want to get out of the developer package, unfortunately for me I am a complete newbie in the Linux system despite many years of programming experience. Please help me get initiated into the kali linux community by allowing me to at least get to the greet screen.

The computer that I am trying to dual boot Kali Linux and Windows 8.1 is Asus Vivo Book S300C. The computer came with windows 8.1 pre-installed and I would like to keep my files. While googling for a guide, I found this tutorial that feels like the perfect place to start:

http://docs.kali.org/installation/du...i-with-windows

So I started to follow the instructions to the letter. I downloaded the latest Kali 1.0.9 and used Win32 Disk Imager to write the ISO file to my 8GB USB (which shrunk to 2.7GB but I am hopeful the process is reversible ) I had to change the boot order in the BIOS and disable the boot security so that the USB can be booted. The first time it was amazing, everything worked just like in the tutorial. So I ran gParted to partition my OS hard drive as indicated, and divide out 40GB of unallocated space AFTER MiB.