Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Whats wrong with metasploit?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Sep
    Location
    /dev/null
    Posts
    21

    Whats wrong with metasploit?

    A few days ago, mysql-server(5?) was unable to update. Now metasploit wont. I do in fact have multiarch enabled, but its only for a very specific package, so apt is not breaking packages by downloading i386 versions over amd64 ones.

    Code:
    root@lead[~]#apt-get -f install
    Reading package lists... Done
    Building dependency tree       
    Reading state information... Done
    The following extra packages will be installed:
      metasploit
    The following packages will be upgraded:
      metasploit
    1 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 37 not upgraded.
    33 not fully installed or removed.
    Need to get 0 B/170 MB of archives.
    After this operation, 645 kB disk space will be freed.
    Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
    Reading changelogs... Done
    (Reading database ... 349245 files and directories currently installed.)
    Preparing to replace metasploit 4.11.0-2015011401-1kali0 (using .../metasploit_4.11.0-2015013101-1kali0_amd64.deb) ...
    /var/lib/dpkg/info/metasploit.prerm: 5: /var/lib/dpkg/info/metasploit.prerm: invoke-rc.d: not found
    dpkg: warning: subprocess old pre-removal script returned error exit status 127
    dpkg: trying script from the new package instead ...
    /var/lib/dpkg/tmp.ci/prerm: 5: /var/lib/dpkg/tmp.ci/prerm: invoke-rc.d: not found
    dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/metasploit_4.11.0-2015013101-1kali0_amd64.deb (--unpack):
     subprocess new pre-removal script returned error exit status 127
    insserv: warning: current start runlevel(s) (empty) of script `metasploit' overrides LSB defaults (2 3 4 5).
    insserv: warning: current stop runlevel(s) (0 1 2 3 4 5 6) of script `metasploit' overrides LSB defaults (0 1 6).
    insserv: script vboxdrv: service vboxdrv already provided!
    /var/lib/dpkg/info/metasploit.postinst: line 162: invoke-rc.d: command not found
    dpkg: error while cleaning up:
     subprocess installed post-installation script returned error exit status 127
    Errors were encountered while processing:
     /var/cache/apt/archives/metasploit_4.11.0-2015013101-1kali0_amd64.deb
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    /etc/apt/sources.list:
    Code:
    # kali repos installed by SET
    deb http://http.kali.org/kali kali main non-free contrib
    deb-src http://http.kali.org/kali kali main non-free contrib
    ## Security updates
    deb http://security.kali.org/kali-security kali/updates main contrib non-free
    #deb http://repo.kali.org/kali kali-bleeding-edge main
    Code:
    root@lead[~]#uname -a
    Linux lead 3.14-kali1-amd64 #1 SMP Debian 3.14.5-1kali1 (2014-06-07) x86_64 GNU/Linux
    Any idea whats going on here?
    Last edited by 11552; 2015-02-04 at 21:23.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-Apr
    Posts
    7
    You need to do a reinstall. There is nothing wrong with metasploit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2015-Mar
    Posts
    12
    Hey guys, ive been having the same problem and was planning on running apt-get purge metasploit then reinstalling but last time i did this with vim it corrupted my hard drive and i needed to reinstall and really dont want to go through this again is that an ok procedure or is there something i havent thought about...Im sorry to bother you guys with the dumb question thanks in advance

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2015-Apr
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    9
    I wouldn't use apt-get purge metasploit (seems like a bad idea)
    use apt-get remove metasploit-framework
    this should be enough, than reinstall

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2015-Mar
    Posts
    12
    ok Toqu82 thank you it worked and is updateing now

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2015-May
    Location
    everywhere
    Posts
    3
    hello everyone, i had similiar issues. my metasploit is now reinstalled and working, but i have no web interface, none at all, at least Armitage is working, any ideas ?

  7. #7

    Try using git

    Code:
    git clone git://github.com/rapid7/metasploit-framework

Similar Threads

  1. Whats wrong with the sources.list file?
    By sudodamien in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2020-09-22, 22:46
  2. Conky lags, whats wrong?
    By Trustem in forum General Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-10-12, 14:18

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •