Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: solution for static dns

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Jun
    Posts
    123

    solution for static dns

    i have followed some tutorials already posted, which referenced whonix. i also followed a ytube video called How to set Static IP Kali Linux.

    i cannot get dns to stay at 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4

    what do I need to do? I have kali installed to internal hd of mbp.

    please advise.

    edit~ i am trying to accomplish faster internet speeds
    Last edited by brazen; 2015-02-25 at 22:10.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-Jun
    Posts
    123
    outputs:
    Code:
    nano interface.bak
    # This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    # and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).
    
    # The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback

    Code:
    root@kali:/etc/network# nano interfaces
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet static
    address 10.113.83.200
    netmask 255.255.255.0
    gateway 10.113.83.1

    f
    Code:
    root@kali:~# ping google.com
    PING google.com (216.58.216.206) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from ord31s21-in-f14.1e100.net (216.58.216.206): icmp_req=1 ttl=53 time=67.5 ms
    64 bytes from ord31s21-in-f14.1e100.net (216.58.216.206): icmp_req=3 ttl=53 time=80.4 ms
    64 bytes from ord31s21-in-f14.1e100.net (216.58.216.206): icmp_req=9 ttl=53 time=75.8 ms
    64 bytes from ord31s21-in-f14.1e100.net (216.58.216.206): icmp_req=10 ttl=53 time=105 ms
    64 bytes from ord31s21-in-f14.1e100.net (216.58.216.206): icmp_req=11 ttl=53 time=92.7 ms
    64 bytes from ord31s21-in-f14.1e100.net (216.58.216.206): icmp_req=16 ttl=53 time=72.1 ms
    ^C^X64 bytes from ord31s21-in-f14.1e100.net (216.58.216.206): icmp_req=20 ttl=53 time=79.2 ms
    
    --- google.com ping statistics ---
    20 packets transmitted, 7 received, 65% packet loss, time 37583ms
    rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 67.597/81.883/105.282/12.013 ms
    Last edited by brazen; 2015-02-25 at 22:07.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    http://rastamouse.me
    Posts
    86
    Your DHCP client usually uses your default gateway as your DNS nameserver (you can check this in /etc/resolv.conf). You can add the following lines to /etc/network/interfaces to ensure static DNS:

    Code:
    dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4
    OSCP
    --
    If it smells like a duck, walks like a duck and quacks like a duck; then it probably is a duck.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2013-Jun
    Posts
    123
    Quote Originally Posted by rastamouse View Post
    Your DHCP client usually uses your default gateway as your DNS nameserver (you can check this in /etc/resolv.conf). You can add the following lines to /etc/network/interfaces to ensure static DNS:

    Code:
    dns-nameservers 8.8.8.8 8.8.4.4
    thanks! i had it there, restarted and i didn't see it / nor look for it. i put it back in, SAVED this time. and it's working... Thanks!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2013-Jun
    Posts
    123
    i have huge packet loss. what is the best way to setup my wifi?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2013-Mar
    Location
    http://rastamouse.me
    Posts
    86
    Where are they getting dropped?
    OSCP
    --
    If it smells like a duck, walks like a duck and quacks like a duck; then it probably is a duck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •