Thread: Cannot create the partition for persistence (Kali Live USB)

Cannot create the partition for persistence (Kali Live USB)

I installed the image on an 8Gb USB "stick", using the suggested Windows program. It will boot, but there is no persistence.

I went through the instructions Adding Persistence to a Kali Linux "Live" USB Drive.

I would do this on Windows, but the instructions do not cover Windows.

I do not have another working Linux system. So I booted the Kali Linux I created and tried to do the du command on the .iso file name to get the start address. I got "No such file or directory".

I suspect I must do the commands from another Linux machine, but the instructions are not clear. Can I do it from the Kali Linux I booted in this way somehow? Or is there a way to do it from Windows?

I am brand new to this, I am sure I am doing something stupid, but don't know what. Would someone kindly try to help?

More information

Quote Originally Posted by Jacques Roth View Post
    I installed the image on an 8Gb USB "stick", using the suggested Windows program. It will boot, but there is no persistence.

I went through the instructions Adding Persistence to a Kali Linux "Live" USB Drive.

I would do this on Windows, but the instructions do not cover Windows.

I do not have another working Linux system. So I booted the Kali Linux I created and tried to do the du command on the .iso file name to get the start address. I got "No such file or directory".

I suspect I must do the commands from another Linux machine, but the instructions are not clear. Can I do it from the Kali Linux I booted in this way somehow? Or is there a way to do it from Windows?

I am brand new to this, I am sure I am doing something stupid, but don't know what. Would someone kindly try to help?

UPDATE -