Thread: Do I need to install a firewall and antivirus?

Do I need to install a firewall and antivirus?

Hello,

I'm completely new to Linux. Do I need to install firewall and antivirus? Without a firewall am I safe and secure from intrusions?

If I wanted to learn hacking and programming with Kali to become a more sensible user of computers where should I start?

Please help. Thanks

Hello,

first if you completley new to Linux you shouldn't use Kali or be really careful. Try another distro and learn as much as you can about Linux and how it works. Also learn all about how computers communicate in networks. I guess it would be really difficult for you learn hacking and programming with Kali if there is no basic understanding off these things.
    On the other hand learning Linux is really easy and if you need any help pm to me

Now Your Question: Yes you can install a Firewall but this can disturb your Pentests in many cases. Also you can install an Antivirusprog but its not recommended cause of the many Scripts and Exploits including in this Distro (lots off trouble)

Hope that helps und excuse my english