Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Wifite issues

  1. #1

    Wifite issues

    Updated Kali Chroot But now Wifite has issues

    Right when i get to the part to device monitor mode choice device

    When i choice my device and loops back to asking me to choice my device again for monitor mode ?

  2. #2
    The current version of Wifite doesn't support the latest version of aircrack (v1.2 rc2).

    The fix has been merged into the project (https://github.com/derv82/wifite/com...a50a4e9d350714) so on the next package update for Wifite, it will work again.
    You can open a ticket on the bug tracker to get the package updated (https://bugs.kali.org/)
    This is a Kali-Linux support forum - not general IT/infosec help.

    Useful Commands: OS, Networking, Hardware, Wi-Fi
    Troubleshooting: Kali-Linux Installation, Repository, Wi-Fi Cards (Official Docs)
    Hardware: Recommended 802.11 Wireless Cards

    Search: https://www.kali.org/search/
    Documentation: http://docs.kali.org/ (Offline PDF version)
    Bugs Reporting & Tool Requests: https://bugs.kali.org/
    Kali Tool List, Versions & Man Pages: http://tools.kali.org/

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    59
    Open another window, run airmon-ng, find the adapter you want to start, start it manually, then carry on with wifite, when you choose that adapter it will go to the next step now.


    Quote Originally Posted by superjay2009 View Post
    Updated Kali Chroot But now Wifite has issues

    Right when i get to the part to device monitor mode choice device

    When i choice my device and loops back to asking me to choice my device again for monitor mode ?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    36
    Same thing for me, i tried to manually bring it up and it worked but wifite still doesnt work.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    1
    Hey Guys, Same thing happened to me after I update this Kali chroot. Damn!! It was working perfectlly before update.
    Same damn loop!!

    When I try to open a new window the comand prompt that appear is a command from Android, and not from Kali. It is:

    u0_a88@hammerhead:/ $ >

    I think the command that has to appear is something like root@kali:~

    And I don know where I can find airmon-ng to run it.
    How to run airmong-ng if not even the command line is the correct?

    Please someone help.

    Thank you guys.




    Edit: Swearing
    Last edited by g0tmi1k; 2015-05-13 at 08:27 AM. Reason: Swearing

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    36
    if you get thrown out of the kali chroot ypu need to open the kali launcher and click on 'open kali shell'.and once in the kali chroot type airmon-ng.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by superjay2009 View Post
    Updated Kali Chroot But now Wifite has issues

    Right when i get to the part to device monitor mode choice device

    When i choice my device and loops back to asking me to choice my device again for monitor mode ?
    I solved the problem by modding the script a bit.

    nano /usr/bin/wifite

    And then at the end of the get_iface() function, I modified it like this:
    Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 8.14.29 PM.jpg

    The line of code that fetches the device to put in monitor mode fetched the "phy0" part, instead of the "wlan0" part. Now, it fetches the correct part.

  8. #8
    I have to do the same thing, manually put alpha in monitor mode thengo back to wifite and it works, but quick question. Im using nexus 6 and wifite will grab the .cap but after i chose to save all the captures the sdcard i can never find it. Everyone says its in sdcard-kali nh-captures-wifite, but i never see them. What are you guys doing ? I want to crack the .caps on my desktop which has much more power

    Nevermind i found a way. Incase anyone is wondering i had to reboot into recover and go through the directories to locate the captures. Moved them to sdcard-kali nh-captures-wifite. Rebooted normally and there they were. Finally accessable with my file manager
    Last edited by Digitalbeast; 2015-07-26 at 11:47 PM. Reason: solved

  9. #9
    Quote Originally Posted by Paranoir View Post
    I solved the problem by modding the script a bit.

    nano /usr/bin/wifite

    And then at the end of the get_iface() function, I modified it like this:
    Screen Shot 2015-07-19 at 8.14.29 PM.jpg

    The line of code that fetches the device to put in monitor mode fetched the "phy0" part, instead of the "wlan0" part. Now, it fetches the correct part.
    Would it be possible for you to upload your modified wifite.py please so that i may download it and paste it into my Kali? whenever i try to edit my wifite.py file i end up with an error saying something about an unexpected indent??? Sorry for such a silly question but im really new to wifite and would like help.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    27
    Quote Originally Posted by jademanworld View Post
    Would it be possible for you to upload your modified wifite.py please so that i may download it and paste it into my Kali? whenever i try to edit my wifite.py file i end up with an error saying something about an unexpected indent??? Sorry for such a silly question but im really new to wifite and would like help.
    Did you solve it? I also tried to edit it without any luck.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •