Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Multiple monitor modes missing in Airmon-ng

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2015-May
    Posts
    2

    Multiple monitor modes missing in Airmon-ng

    Afternoon,

    With the recent update, I have found I unable to create multiple monitor interfaces, and as such the Wifi-Honey pot tool is also now broken. Seeing as Kali has now moved from mon0 to wlan0mon how do we create multiple monitor interfaces?

    corniche

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-Apr
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    315
    Are you having trouble making multiple monitor mode interfaces with her airmon-ng or is your script not making them for you?

    I have no issues making multiple interfaces and other airmon-ng
    chown -R us ./base

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2015-Mar
    Posts
    127
    Alot of scripts gonna have to be tweaked. With some it works if u make the moniter your self b4 executing the script......with others script just fails.

    The programmer of aircrack sugguest u contact who ever wrote the script for updates, he's not changing airmon-ng back to old method. Offers the source if your inclined to code it yourself.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2015-May
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by staticn0de View Post
    Are you having trouble making multiple monitor mode interfaces with her airmon-ng or is your script not making them for you?

    I have no issues making multiple interfaces and other airmon-ng
    Sorry, two separate issues, wifi-honey pot tool is failing due to its script defaulting to mon0 not the new wlan0mon. Manually creating multiple wlan0mon isn't working for me.

    Quote Originally Posted by nuroo View Post
    Alot of scripts gonna have to be tweaked. With some it works if u make the moniter your self b4 executing the script......with others script just fails.

    The programmer of aircrack sugguest u contact who ever wrote the script for updates, he's not changing airmon-ng back to old method. Offers the source if your inclined to code it yourself.
    The last commit to the script is from 2012 for wifi honey, whether or not the actual author of the tool would be wanting to implement an update, I guess I won't know until asked, however I think I might have a go myself. Nothing ventured nothing gained.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Posts
    841
    MTeams raised this warning a few days ago.

    Read the comments https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...ack-ng-1-2-rc2. They consider this wonderful feature in the older airmon-ng a bug.

    The newer airmon-ng is killing all the legacy programs. What they need to do us give us a choice to use the older airmon-ng or the newer version. Just name the newer version something else and let us choose. In the end users are just going to work around this problem anyway.

Similar Threads

  1. Airmon-ng Cannot Put wlan0 into Monitor Mode
    By Acidic9 in forum General Archive
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 2018-01-14, 22:08
  2. Can't monitor wlan0 via airmon-ng on Kali within VirtualBox
    By Mrokii in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2017-01-20, 16:23
  3. How to create multiple monitors with the newer airmon-ng
    By mmusket33 in forum How-To Archive
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2016-10-17, 10:05

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •