Thread: General questions on how to install the kali tools on other distros

General questions on how to install the kali tools on other distros

Hello guys,

I started with backtrack 1 - 5, then a few years quiet after that I found out they released kali and I wanted back in the game, so I am fairly new with the pentesting OS'es and new with linux in general as I grew up with windows and I know the environment I am working with. That said, as of lately I am picking up pentesting with the eWPT v2 course so I thought what the heck I make the switch to linux atleast for my laptop I knew backtrack was fully setup for the tools and everything preinstalled works like a charm out of the box no additional libs needed everything runs without errors etc.
    But I do not like how it looks, and for me it seems that with Ubuntu I atleast know were to start looking for installed programs and how to install them even though Ubuntu is the user friendly linux distro.

So to put an end to my awful long prequel above, I need to use alot of pentest tools BUT perhaps more importantly I need to customise it so that it feels ok so that I can work more effectively.

The things I tried and failed with are installing xubuntu then added the kali repos to sources.list, that was succesful therefor I am coming here but afterwards there were tools that I couldnt install due to missing **** like libs, packages whatever.
    I was also forced to install kali multiple times cause after the install and or upgrade he doesnt want to bootup I get black screen or as soon as it leaves the bios flash screen that computer logo at startup it gives me error messages that I cant understand and I understand when the computer doesnt recognize the right hdd or grub isnt configurred properly.

So Kali itself brings alot of pain along the way, tho I recognize its the best pentest os out there.