Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Fixing wireshark superuser error: "Lua: Error during loading"

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2013-Nov
    Posts
    20

    Fixing wireshark superuser error: "Lua: Error during loading"

    Hello,

    Whenever i try starting wireshark, i always get this this error

    Error during loading:[string "/usr/share/wireshark/init.lua"]:46: dofile has been disabled due to running Wireshark as superuser. See http://wiki.wireshark.org/CaptureSet...turePrivileges for help in running Wireshark as an unprivileged user.
    .

    I found a simple fix for this.

    Go to usr-share-wireshark, open init.lua with a text editor, then change "disable_lua = false" to "disable_lua = true".

    Got this fix from this website:

    http://siriusinfoblog.blogspot.com/2...g-loading.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2014-Mar
    Posts
    14
    From wiki.wireshark.org I use this:

    Code:
    Setting network privileges for dumpcap
    1. Ensure your linux kernel and filesystem supports File Capabilities and also you have
    installed necessary tools.
    2. "setcap 'CAP_NET_RAW+eip CAP_NET_ADMIN+eip' /usr/bin/dumpcap"
    3. Start Wireshark as non-root and ensure you see the list of interfaces and can do 
    capture.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2014-Jul
    Posts
    2
    Or edit /usr/share/init.lua and disable the code which prints the message and disables the capabilites. Use "--" as the other comments are done for each of the lines 39-50.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2014-Nov
    Posts
    4
    Quote Originally Posted by my68_ View Post
    Code:
    Setting network privileges for dumpcap
    1. Ensure your linux kernel and filesystem supports File Capabilities and also you have
    installed necessary tools.
    2. "setcap 'CAP_NET_RAW+eip CAP_NET_ADMIN+eip' /usr/bin/dumpcap"
    3. Start Wireshark as non-root and ensure you see the list of interfaces and can do 
    capture.
    It should be noted also that in order to perform step two in this process you need to do it as root user otherwise you will be told "bash: setcap: command not found". You can't even access the man page for setcap unless you are the root user. Once you have perfomed the operation you can then go back to being a user with admin rights and start wireshark happy and free.

  5. #5
    gedit /usr/share/wireshark/init.lua
    then
    -- Set disable_lua to true to disable Lua support.
    disable_lua = true //set it to true
    Where is the darn "any key" key?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2016-Apr
    Posts
    1
    if this does not kick a terminal gedit /usr/share/wireshark/init.lua then line 39 if running_superuser Then replace superuser by user for those in root and the message will disappear ula

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2016-Apr
    Posts
    1

    he is the fix.

    Quote Originally Posted by kaboyish View Post
    Hello,

    Whenever i try starting wireshark, i always get this this error

    .

    I found a simple fix for this.

    Go to usr-share-wireshark, open init.lua with a text editor, then change "disable_lua = false" to "disable_lua = true".

    Got this fix from this website:

    http://siriusinfoblog.blogspot.com/2...g-loading.html
    change run_user_scripts_when_superuser = false to
    change run_user_scripts_when_superuser = true

    and then change the if condition
    if running_superuser then to
    if not running_superuser then

    of course this solution for who logging in as root.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2016-Jun
    Posts
    1
    """ when i do what u say wireshark pops up than disapears ! what is the solution i changed it to true but now it doesnt even load !!!


    Quote Originally Posted by kaboyish View Post
    Hello,

    Whenever i try starting wireshark, i always get this this error

    .

    I found a simple fix for this.

    Go to usr-share-wireshark, open init.lua with a text editor, then change "disable_lua = false" to "disable_lua = true".

    Got this fix from this website:

    http://siriusinfoblog.blogspot.com/2...g-loading.html

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2016-Apr
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by redri View Post
    """ when i do what u say wireshark pops up than disapears ! what is the solution i changed it to true but now it doesnt even load !!!
    Go back into the script and redo what you did and follow eXecuteR advice in his post.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2016-Aug
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by P373 View Post
    Go back into the script and redo what you did and follow eXecuteR advice in his post.
    I've tried all of this and it still will not work. It either will not show any traffic for wlan0mon or wireshark will just close out.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2016-Aug
    Posts
    1
    Hi guys....I just fix the error

    Disable _lua =false
    Run _user_scripts_when_superuser=true
    If not running_superuser then



    Just change this much on init.lua

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2013-Aug
    Posts
    4
    search dofile(DATA_DIR.."console.lua") to replace --dofile(DATA_DIR.."console.lua")

  13. #13
    Join Date
    2016-Oct
    Location
    /dev/sda
    Posts
    1,012
    Isn't it better if you run wireshark without root?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2016-04-25, 14:16

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •