Thread: Working on a Windows 10 and Kali 2.0 dual boot with UEFI installation.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Question Working on a Windows 10 and Kali 2.0 dual boot with UEFI installation.

Working on this and running into some issues. First I'm using the UEFI install from the forums but it is for an older version of Kali. I admit i'm rather new to the UEFI process, installing via MBR is no problem, but I don't want to lose my Windows 10 partitions.

Performing the USB live afterinstalling Kali 2.0 to USB via Rufus. Putting the EFI files in /EFI/Boot, the USB boots to grub just fine, but any selection comes up with kernel has to be loaded first. Kernel is in /live as grub.cfg is set. Here is my grub.cfg file

Code:
    # Config file for GRUB2 - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
    # /boot/grub/grub.cfg

# DEVICE NAME CONVERSIONS
    #
    # Linux Grub
    # -------------------------
    # /dev/fd0 (fd0)
    # /dev/sda (hd0)
    # /dev/sdb2 (hd1,2)
    # /dev/sda3 (hd0,3)
    #
    # root=UUID=556feb5a-aa31-4dc0-91ba-1fc416f045c6 persistent

set menu_color_normal=yellow/blue
    set menu_color_highlight=blue/yellow

function load_video {
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
    insmod all_video
    }

load_video
    set gfxpayload=keep

# Timeout for menu
    set timeout=5

# Set default boot entry as Entry 0
    set default=0
    set color_normal=yellow/blue

menuentry "Kali - Boot Non Persistent Mode" {
    linuxefi /live/vmlinuz boot=live noconfig=sudo username=root hostname=kali
    initrdefi /live/initrd.img
    }

menuentry "Kali - Boot Persistent" {
    linuxefi /live/vmlinuz boot=live noconfig=sudo username=root hostname=kali persistence
    }

menuentry "Kali Failsafe" {
    linuxefi /live/vmlinuz boot=live config memtest noapic noapm nodma nomce nolapic nomodeset nosmp nosplash vga=normal
    }

menuentry "Kali Forensics - No Drive or Swap Mount" {