Thread: Best Chromebook and method to install Kali Linux

Best Chromebook and method to install Kali Linux

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to Kali and was wondering what the best and most stable version of Kali Linux is to install from a bootable usb drive that works on any Chromebook. Just recently purchased a Samsung Chromebook 2 and installed with no luck. I'm will to admit right off the bat that I'm not best at this stuff but I do know how to follow instructions and had no luck getting it on the Chromebook 2. In fact, I didn't notice til I got the Chromebook 2 that the link for that download is no longer around. Tried to dd the Chromebook Kali image onto a thumb drive, try to boot and just got a sad beep noise. Is there a better more stable way to do this on another Chromebook without actually downloading it onto the hard drive of the Chromebook itself. Thanks in advance.
    Last edited by haken29a; 2015-09-09 at 02:43. Reason: Title

You'll probably want to download armhf image. If you have access to another Linux or Windows machine, you should be able to make a USB live Kali stick

Quote Originally Posted by badger8327 View Post
    Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to Kali and was wondering what the best and most stable version of Kali Linux is to install from a bootable usb drive that works on any Chromebook. Just recently purchased a Samsung Chromebook 2 and installed with no luck. I'm will to admit right off the bat that I'm not best at this stuff but I do know how to follow instructions and had no luck getting it on the Chromebook 2. In fact, I didn't notice til I got the Chromebook 2 that the link for that download is no longer around. Tried to dd the Chromebook Kali image onto a thumb drive, try to boot and just got a sad beep noise. Is there a better more stable way to do this on another Chromebook without actually downloading it onto the hard drive of the Chromebook itself. Thanks in advance.
    I just figured this out myself.