Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Kali Tools in Mint

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2015-Aug
    Posts
    13

    Kali Tools in Mint

    HI All

    I have finally taken the jump to linux mint on my latop (bye bye windows complete erase installation).

    So rather then having 2 systems sharing the same home directory etc, or Dual booting 2 os's Can i get the tools airmon,wireshark,metaspolit etc to run from the mint os?

    I believe they are both derivatives of Debian so is it possible or I am must understanding something.

    If i have to run a dual boot can someone walk me through that process.

    Kind Regards
    ShenLun

    shenlun@ShenLun ~ $ inxi -F
    System: Host: ShenLun Kernel: 3.16.0-38-generic x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: Cinnamon 2.6.13 Distro: Linux Mint 17.2 Rafaela
    Machine: System: TOSHIBA product: Satellite L50D-B version: PSKULA-05N00V
    Mobo: AMD model: Larne Bios: Insyde version: 1.60 date: 12/11/2014
    CPU: Quad core AMD A4-6210 APU with AMD Radeon R3 Graphics (-MCP-) cache: 8192 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm)
    Clock Speeds: 1: 1000.00 MHz 2: 1000.00 MHz 3: 1000.00 MHz 4: 1000.00 MHz
    Graphics: Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Mullins [Radeon APU A6-6200 with R3 Graphics]
    X.Org: 1.15.1 drivers: ati,fglrx (unloaded: fbdev,vesa,radeon) Resolution: 1366x768@60.0hz
    GLX Renderer: AMD Radeon R3 Graphics GLX Version: 4.4.13374 - CPC 15.20.1013
    Audio: Card-1: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] FCH Azalia Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
    Card-2: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] Device 9840 driver: snd_hda_intel
    Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: k3.16.0-38-generic
    Network: Card-1: Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller driver: r8169
    IF: eth0 state: down mac: c4:54:44:e7:61:6f
    Card-2: Broadcom BCM43142 802.11b/g/n driver: wl
    IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 30:10:b3:cd:40:00
    Drives: HDD Total Size: 3000.6GB (11.1% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABD1 size: 1000.2GB
    2: USB id: /dev/sdb model: 003_HN size: 2000.4GB
    Partition: ID: / size: 910G used: 6.3G (1%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 7.48GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap
    RAID: No RAID devices detected - /proc/mdstat and md_mod kernel raid module present
    Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 58.8C mobo: N/A
    Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
    Info: Processes: 199 Uptime: 14:36 Memory: 1619.3/6878.7MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.9.17

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Location
    /home/duxim
    Posts
    408
    you need to investigate this
    see in Mint software if they have those tools.

    "So rather then having 2 systems sharing the same home directory etc, or Dual booting 2 os's "
    you can also put each OS at one partition if you like it

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2015-Oct
    Posts
    3
    Another option is use Virtual box with Mint as the host and Kali Linux as the guest. It can be easily backed up and moved. The down side is , if you have a dual boot environment, Kali will get all the sytem resource and will work much faster.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2015-Aug
    Posts
    13
    HI All

    @Duxim, so you are saying that i can run both systems from the same partition???

    My end goal is "simple" have the tools from kali running on mint. Or is it simpilar to run the few tools and software in kali,kingsoftoffice,banshee,netflix (on chrome),cybrary.it(my course in pentesting).

    @Deeoak1501 I am not interested in using a virtual box as I don't see the point, I can't save any information so I might a well run it off a live usb, but I want to run the tools from it. I have tried to download the meta packages from:
    https://www.kali.org/news/kali-linux-metapackages/

    I have tried the kali-linux-all
    kali-linux-top-10
    kali-linux-wireless
    kali-linux-forensic
    etc..

    I get is the following:
    Ign http://dl.google.com stable InRelease
    Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela InRelease
    Ign http://extra.linuxmint.com rafaela InRelease
    Ign http://archive.canonical.com trusty InRelease
    Hit http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela Release.gpg
    Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty InRelease
    Ign http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security InRelease
    Hit http://extra.linuxmint.com rafaela Release.gpg
    Hit http://archive.canonical.com trusty Release.gpg
    Ign http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates InRelease
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security Release.gpg
    Hit http://dl.google.com stable Release.gpg
    Hit http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela Release
    Hit http://extra.linuxmint.com rafaela Release
    Hit http://archive.canonical.com trusty Release
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty Release.gpg
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security Release
    Hit http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/main amd64 Packages
    Hit http://extra.linuxmint.com rafaela/main amd64 Packages
    Hit http://archive.canonical.com trusty/partner amd64 Packages
    Get:1 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates Release.gpg [933 B]
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/main amd64 Packages
    Hit http://archive.canonical.com trusty/partner i386 Packages
    Hit http://dl.google.com stable Release
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty Release
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/restricted amd64 Packages
    Hit http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/upstream amd64 Packages
    Hit http://extra.linuxmint.com rafaela/main i386 Packages
    Hit http://dl.google.com stable/main amd64 Packages
    Hit http://archive.canonical.com trusty/partner Translation-en
    Get:2 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates Release [63.5 kB]
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/universe amd64 Packages
    Hit http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/import amd64 Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/multiverse amd64 Packages
    Hit http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/main i386 Packages
    Hit http://dl.google.com stable/main i386 Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/main i386 Packages
    Hit http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/upstream i386 Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/restricted i386 Packages
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/main amd64 Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/universe i386 Packages
    Hit http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/import i386 Packages
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/restricted amd64 Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/multiverse i386 Packages
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/universe amd64 Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/main Translation-en
    Ign http://extra.linuxmint.com rafaela/main Translation-en_AU
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/multiverse amd64 Packages
    Ign http://extra.linuxmint.com rafaela/main Translation-en
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/multiverse Translation-en
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/main i386 Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/restricted Translation-en
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/restricted i386 Packages
    Hit http://security.ubuntu.com trusty-security/universe Translation-en
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/universe i386 Packages
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/multiverse i386 Packages
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/main Translation-en_AU
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/main Translation-en
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/multiverse Translation-en_AU
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/multiverse Translation-en
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/restricted Translation-en_AU
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/restricted Translation-en
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/universe Translation-en_AU
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty/universe Translation-en
    Get:3 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/main amd64 Packages [627 kB]
    Ign http://dl.google.com stable/main Translation-en_AU
    Ign http://dl.google.com stable/main Translation-en
    Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/import Translation-en_AU
    Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/import Translation-en
    Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/main Translation-en_AU
    Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/main Translation-en
    Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/upstream Translation-en_AU
    Ign http://packages.linuxmint.com rafaela/upstream Translation-en
    Get:4 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/restricted amd64 Packages [15.4 kB]
    Get:5 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/universe amd64 Packages [320 kB]
    Get:6 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/multiverse amd64 Packages [11.9 kB]
    Get:7 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/main i386 Packages [608 kB]
    Get:8 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/restricted i386 Packages [15.1 kB]
    Get:9 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/universe i386 Packages [320 kB]
    Get:10 http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/multiverse i386 Packages [12.1 kB]
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/main Translation-en
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/multiverse Translation-en
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/restricted Translation-en
    Hit http://archive.ubuntu.com trusty-updates/universe Translation-en
    Fetched 1,994 kB in 26s (75.9 kB/s)
    Reading package lists... Done

    I've tried watching:
    *YOUTUBE*



    Kind Regards
    ShenLun


    Edit:
    youtube rule
    Last edited by g0tmi1k; 2015-10-07 at 08:51. Reason: Youtube Links

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Location
    /home/duxim
    Posts
    408
    @Duxim, so you are saying that i can run both systems from the same partition???
    no I am not saying this !!!
    if it will be possible then we don't need to make any partition on system
    of course that i mean that you can put only one OS in only one separate partition

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2015-Oct
    Posts
    3
    You need to install virtual Box. The installation of Kali is just like any hard drive install. This way Mint and Kali will be installed in the same partition. Kali would be installed on a virtual disk created on the same partition by VB. and all the changes you do would be saved , will not be lost after reboot.

    You will need to learn Virtual box which will take some time . You can move the Kali linux to another machine running virtual box just by exporting the machine from the old VB and importing on the new VB.
    VB runs on variety of hardware and OSs like Windows and various Linux flavours

  7. #7
    This question has been asked multiple times. The answer hasn't changed. its not supported by kali or the any other OS. You are completely on your own.

    By mixing OS repos, something at some stage WILL break.
    Might not be straight away - but it will.

    If you want two different OSs - either dual boot (HDD install or USB), docker, or use a VM.

    Closing thread.
    This is a Kali-Linux support forum - not general IT/infosec help.

    Useful Commands: OS, Networking, Hardware, Wi-Fi
    Troubleshooting: Kali-Linux Installation, Repository, Wi-Fi Cards (Official Docs)
    Hardware: Recommended 802.11 Wireless Cards

    Documentation: http://docs.kali.org/ (Offline PDF version)
    Bugs Reporting & Tool Requests: https://bugs.kali.org/
    Kali Tool List, Versions & Man Pages: https://tools.kali.org/

Similar Threads

  1. Can't boot my Linux Mint after installing Kali Tools
    By drag00n3333 in forum General Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-07-08, 08:41
  2. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2014-05-31, 11:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •