Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Not able to get card into Monitor mode

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2015-Oct
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18

    Not able to get card into Monitor mode

    I am trying to get my TPLink TL-WN722N to enter monitor mode using airmon-ng.

    I believe I've done everything correctly but it's giving me a weird monitor device, not mon0, it's wlan1mon.

    Running Kali 2.0 Live USB with Persistence.

    The copy from my terminal will likely be able to explain this better. (I removed MAC addresses)

    Could someone please help me figure out why I can't get monitor mode working?

    Code:
    root@kali:~# ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:16 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
              RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:960 (960.0 B)  TX bytes:960 (960.0 B)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr   
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    wlan1     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr c4:e9:84 
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    root@kali:~# airmon-ng
    PHY	Interface	Driver		Chipset
    
    phy0	wlan0		iwlwifi		Intel Corporation Centrino Wireless-N 2200 (rev c4)
    phy1	wlan1		ath9k_htc	Atheros Communications, Inc. AR9271 802.11n
    
    root@kali:~# airmon-ng start wlan1
    Found 4 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!
    
      PID Name
     1619 NetworkManager
     1719 wpa_supplicant
     1968 avahi-daemon
     1969 avahi-daemon
    
    PHY	Interface	Driver		Chipset
    
    phy0	wlan0		iwlwifi		Intel Corporation Centrino Wireless-N 2200 (rev c4)
    phy1	wlan1		ath9k_htc	Atheros Communications, Inc. AR9271 802.11n
    		(mac80211 monitor mode vif enabled for [phy1]wlan1 on [phy1]wlan1mon)
    		(mac80211 station mode vif disabled for [phy1]wlan1)
    
    
    root@kali:~# airodump-ng mon0
    Interface mon0: 
    ioctl(SIOCGIFINDEX) failed: No such device
    
    root@kali:~# airodump-ng wlan1mon
    ioctl(SIOCSIWMODE) failed: Device or resource busy
    
    ARP linktype is set to 1 (Ethernet) - expected ARPHRD_IEEE80211,
    ARPHRD_IEEE80211_FULL or ARPHRD_IEEE80211_PRISM instead.  Make
    sure RFMON is enabled: run 'airmon-ng start wlan1mon <#>'
    Sysfs injection support was not found either.
    
    root@kali:~# airmon-ng 
    PHY	Interface	Driver		Chipset
    
    phy0	wlan0		iwlwifi		Intel Corporation Centrino Wireless-N 2200 (rev c4)
    phy1	wlan1mon	ath9k_htc	Atheros Communications, Inc. AR9271 802.11n
    
    root@kali:~# ifconfig
    eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
              Interrupt:16 
    
    lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
              inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
              inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
              UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
              RX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:16 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
              RX bytes:960 (960.0 B)  TX bytes:960 (960.0 B)
    
    wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 
              UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    wlan1mon  Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr c4:e9:84 
              UP BROADCAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
              RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
              TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
              collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
              RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    
    root@kali:~#

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Location
    /home/duxim
    Posts
    408

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2015-Oct
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by duxim View Post
    Thank you!

    I ended up doing ifconfig wlan0 down then up like that post said to do.

    At that time I was using "wlan1monmonmon" as my monitor interface, haha.

    Trying it according to that post in a second, no doubt it will work.

    Thank you again!

    Edit: There is no need for airmon-ng using this method.
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    iwconfig wlan0 mode monitor <---- puts card in monitor mode(note the w in iWconfig)
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    Last edited by Tritium; 2015-10-16 at 18:19.

Similar Threads

  1. Nexus 5 monitor mode without usb wifi card
    By Anarkad in forum NetHunter General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2016-09-03, 01:53
  2. How to use WiFi with internal card while USB is in monitor mode?
    By IRGeekSauce in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2016-06-28, 17:50
  3. Cant put card into monitor mode
    By webos in forum Installing Archive
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2016-02-13, 22:16
  4. Wireless card not being set into monitor mode
    By nightstorm1990 in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-09-16, 01:00
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-03-23, 10:23

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •