Thread: Dual Boot Kali Linux 2.0 alongside Windows 10 *Please help*

Dual Boot Kali Linux 2.0 alongside Windows 10 *Please help*

Greetings to everyone reading this. I would like to respectfully ask for some assistance from any and all who are inclined (and qualified) to provide it. But before I jump into that as if I am entitled to it I suppose I should provide a little background:

I am extremely new to penetration testing and the reason for my interest is twofold; 1. I have a genuine thirst for knowledge and once something captures my attention I have a tendency to dive in headfirst &, 2. I initially wanted to test the security of my personal website, system & network and quickly realized this has the potential to become a legitimate career rather than just an idle hobby.

At first I was running Kali Linux 2.0 on VM's; VirtualBox and VMWare, respectively but it quickly became apparent that I was unable to enjoy the full functionality of this wonderful program on either of those because the NAT connection is extremely limited and I could never get the bridged connection to actually work despite hour after hour spent researching and trouble shooting.

So I decided me next best bet would be to attempt a dual boot alongside my main OS of Windows 10, which brings us to the issue I am asking for help with:

As per the numerous tutorials of the process I have looked at, I see the first step is to create a disk partition. Which I have attempted, numerous times, to no avail. I just tried to upload images to give you a detailed look at what I am seeing but I am told that I do not have permission to do so, for some reason. I imagine it is probably because this is my first post here. But I digress.

Since I am unable to upload images, I will type out the information as it appears in the Disk Management GUI throughout the process of attempting to shrink the volume:

OS (C
    463.67 GB
    Healthy (Boot, Page File, Crash Dump, Primary Partition)