Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: GRUB Configuration: Dual Boot & Text-Mode

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2015-Oct
    Posts
    2

    Question GRUB Configuration: Dual Boot & Text-Mode

    Hello everyone,

    I have two questions regarding the new grub 2.02 that comes with Kali 2:


    1) Configuration of Grub on a Dual Boot Machine:

    This is my current /etc/default/grub file:
    Code:
    GRUB_DEFAULT=0
    GRUB_TIMEOUT=5
    GRUB_DISTRIBUTOR=`lsb_release -i -s 2> /dev/null || echo Debian`
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet"
    GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX="initrd=/install/initrd.gz"
    How do I have to edit this file to make it start Windows 7 after 2 seconds by default?
    On my old installations (and this one currently as a workaround) I changed the order in /boot/grub/grub.cfg but this time I want to do it 100% correct.
    (Also: How can I disable that fancy graphics mode? I managed to change the background image to something different but the font is still terribly small and it REALLY messes up the graphics whilen Win7 is booting. -But that's a different topic I guess )


    2) SOLVED! - Booting Kali into Text-Mode via Grub

    How do I have to edit the entries in /boot/grub/grub.cfg so that I can start Kali into a full Terminal mode without ui? Adding "text" after "quiet" worked in older releases, but not anymore.

    Here is my updated /boot/grub/grub.cfg
    Code:
    #
    # DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
    #
    # It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
    # from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
    #
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
      set have_grubenv=true
      load_env
    fi
    if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
       set default="${next_entry}"
       set next_entry=
       save_env next_entry
       set boot_once=true
    else
       set default="0"
    fi
    
    if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
      menuentry_id_option="--id"
    else
      menuentry_id_option=""
    fi
    
    export menuentry_id_option
    
    if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
      set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
      save_env saved_entry
      set prev_saved_entry=
      save_env prev_saved_entry
      set boot_once=true
    fi
    
    function savedefault {
      if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
        saved_entry="${chosen}"
        save_env saved_entry
      fi
    }
    function load_video {
      if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
        insmod all_video
      else
        insmod efi_gop
        insmod efi_uga
        insmod ieee1275_fb
        insmod vbe
        insmod vga
        insmod video_bochs
        insmod video_cirrus
      fi
    }
    
    if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
       font=unicode
    else
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='hd0,msdos9'
    if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
      search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos9 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos9 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos9  5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    else
      search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    fi
        font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
    fi
    
    if loadfont $font ; then
      set gfxmode=auto
      load_video
      insmod gfxterm
      set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
      set lang=en_US
      insmod gettext
    fi
    terminal_output gfxterm
    if [ "${recordfail}" = 1 ] ; then
      set timeout=-1
    else
      if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
        set timeout_style=menu
        set timeout=2
      # Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
      # unavailable.
      else
        set timeout=2
      fi
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='hd0,msdos9'
    if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
      search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos9 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos9 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos9  5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    else
      search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    fi
    insmod png
    if background_image /usr/share/images/desktop-base/gungnir.png; then
      set color_normal=white/black
      set color_highlight=black/white
    else
      set menu_color_normal=cyan/blue
      set menu_color_highlight=white/blue
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/05_debian_theme ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    function gfxmode {
    	set gfxpayload="${1}"
    }
    set linux_gfx_mode=
    export linux_gfx_mode
    menuentry 'Windows 7' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-843A313C3A312D14' {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root='hd0,msdos1'
    	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  843A313C3A312D14
    	else
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 843A313C3A312D14
    	fi
    	parttool ${root} hidden-
    	chainloader +1
    }
    menuentry 'Debian (Graphic)' --class kali --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af' {
    	load_video
    	insmod gzio
    	if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='hd0,msdos9'
    	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos9 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos9 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos9  5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    	else
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    	fi
    	echo	'Loading Linux 4.0.0-kali1-amd64 ...'
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-4.0.0-kali1-amd64 root=UUID=5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af ro initrd=/install/initrd.gz quiet
    	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-4.0.0-kali1-amd64
    }
    submenu 'Advanced options for Debian (Graphic)' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af' {
    	menuentry 'Kali GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.0.0-kali1-amd64' --class kali --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.0.0-kali1-amd64-advanced-5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af' {
    		load_video
    		insmod gzio
    		if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
    		insmod part_msdos
    		insmod ext2
    		set root='hd0,msdos9'
    		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
    		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos9 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos9 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos9  5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    		else
    		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    		fi
    		echo	'Loading Linux 4.0.0-kali1-amd64 ...'
    		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-4.0.0-kali1-amd64 root=UUID=5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af ro initrd=/install/initrd.gz quiet
    		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    		initrd	/boot/initrd.img-4.0.0-kali1-amd64
    	}
    	menuentry 'Kali GNU/Linux, with Linux 4.0.0-kali1-amd64 (recovery mode)' --class kali --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-4.0.0-kali1-amd64-recovery-5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af' {
    		load_video
    		insmod gzio
    		if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
    		insmod part_msdos
    		insmod ext2
    		set root='hd0,msdos9'
    		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
    		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos9 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos9 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos9  5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    		else
    		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    		fi
    		echo	'Loading Linux 4.0.0-kali1-amd64 ...'
    		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-4.0.0-kali1-amd64 root=UUID=5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af ro single initrd=/install/initrd.gz
    		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    		initrd	/boot/initrd.img-4.0.0-kali1-amd64
    	}
    }
    menuentry 'Debian (Terminal)' --class kali --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af' {
    	load_video
    	insmod gzio
    	if [ x$grub_platform = xxen ]; then insmod xzio; insmod lzopio; fi
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ext2
    	set root='hd0,msdos9'
    	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos9 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos9 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos9  5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    	else
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af
    	fi
    	echo	'Loading Linux 4.0.0-kali1-amd64 ...'
    	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-4.0.0-kali1-amd64 root=UUID=5b71b454-853f-4724-a995-599c871cd5af ro initrd=/install/initrd.gz quiet systemd.unit=multi-user.target
    	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    	initrd	/boot/initrd.img-4.0.0-kali1-amd64
    }
    ### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
    
    ### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
    ### END /etc/grub.d/30_uefi-firmware ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    # This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
    # menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
    # the 'exec tail' line above.
    ### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
    
    ### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
    if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
      source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
    elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
      source $prefix/custom.cfg;
    fi
    ### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
    The trick is adding "systemd.unit=multi-user.target" to the kernel parameter instead if "text". Thanks to duxim for pointing me ito the right direction!
    (And yes, it is edited, but as I said that's only meant to be a workaround so my machine starts into windows by default)

    My machine is a Toshiba Sattelite L50-B 2C8 (Intel i7-u5500, 8GB ram, ATI R7 GPU, 500GB SSD).
    Thanks in Advance,

    Erebos
    Last edited by Erebos; 2015-11-01 at 13:03. Reason: Solved problem 2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2015-Oct
    Posts
    6
    [QUOTE=Erebos;52178]
    Here is my current /boot/grub/grub.cfg
    Code:
    ...
    menuentry 'Windows 7' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-843A313C3A312D14' {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root='hd0,msdos1'
    	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  843A313C3A312D14
    	else
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 843A313C3A312D14
    	fi
    	parttool ${root} hidden-
    	chainloader +1
    }
    ...
    [QUOTE]

    First, I don't have the answer to your problem, but I want notifs when someone does. Can I ask something about your grub.cfg? Can you tell me how you assembled this codeblock above, the menuentry for Win7? Trying to make mine for Win10 and I'm not sure what you've put where, I figure the long form disk name is one of them, and I'm also not sure if msdos9 technically goes anywhere since there's no real such thing (right?) for Win10. What is the `843...` number?

    And I'm very interested in seeing if the grub login screen can have a font size slightly larger, too, so basically I'm subbing your thread it's ridiculous on mine, the top entry is WHITE TEXT ON A WHITE BACKGROUND in VERY tiny font, ***

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Location
    /home/duxim
    Posts
    408
    @Erebos
    first your grub.cfg don't have windows entry
    try fist this command
    sudo update-grub
    if windows is not listed then you have to repair your boot with
    hiren's boot or boot repir cd
    the main task in this step is get windows to boot directly.
    after that you can use any live Linux distro with grub 2.02 to install it on mbr (dev/sda)
    very good link about grub is
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/Setup

    "How can I disable that fancy graphics mode? I managed to change the background image to something different but the font is still terribly small and it REALLY messes up the graphics whilen Win7 is booting"
    try to install light version of Kali instead of full

    "Booting Kali into Text-Mode via Grub"
    I am thinking that is no longer possible to boot in text mode via grub.
    instead of that I found this solution

    cd /lib/systemd/system
    ln -sf multi-user-target default.target

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2015-Oct
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by rkelly View Post
    (...)
    First, I don't have the answer to your problem, but I want notifs when someone does. Can I ask something about your grub.cfg? Can you tell me how you assembled this codeblock above, the menuentry for Win7? Trying to make mine for Win10 and I'm not sure what you've put where, I figure the long form disk name is one of them, and I'm also not sure if msdos9 technically goes anywhere since there's no real such thing (right?) for Win10. What is the `843...` number?

    And I'm very interested in seeing if the grub login screen can have a font size slightly larger, too, so basically I'm subbing your thread it's ridiculous on mine, the top entry is WHITE TEXT ON A WHITE BACKGROUND in VERY tiny font, ***
    The codeblock was assembled automatically by the Installer of Kali after the setup of the system, the only thing I did was to cut and paste it above the Kali entries.
    Regarding the white text, the only solution so far seems to be deleting the line
    Code:
    GRUB_BACKGROUND= ....
    in your /etc/default/grub file. That should turn your background completely black. -Or you could just provide a path to a more suitable image. Grub automatically scales them to its needs.

    Quote Originally Posted by duxim View Post
    @Erebos
    first your grub.cfg don't have windows entry
    try fist this command
    sudo update-grub
    if windows is not listed then you have to repair your boot with
    hiren's boot or boot repir cd
    the main task in this step is get windows to boot directly.
    after that you can use any live Linux distro with grub 2.02 to install it on mbr (dev/sda)
    very good link about grub is
    https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Grub2/Setup

    "How can I disable that fancy graphics mode? I managed to change the background image to something different but the font is still terribly small and it REALLY messes up the graphics whilen Win7 is booting"
    try to install light version of Kali instead of full

    "Booting Kali into Text-Mode via Grub"
    I am thinking that is no longer possible to boot in text mode via grub.
    instead of that I found this solution

    cd /lib/systemd/system
    ln -sf multi-user-target default.target
    My grub.cfg has in fact a Windows 7 entry, it's the one that rkelly quoted.
    Code:
    menuentry 'Windows 7' --class windows --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober-chain-843A313C3A312D14' {
    	insmod part_msdos
    	insmod ntfs
    	set root='hd0,msdos1'
    	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1  843A313C3A312D14
    	else
    	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 843A313C3A312D14
    	fi
    	parttool ${root} hidden-
    	chainloader +1
    }
    I just moved it above all the Kali entries to make it boot at first. I've read that you can use
    Code:
    GRUB_DEFAULT= n
    in the /etc/default/grub file, where n stands for the index of the entries, but I wasn't sure whether or not to concider the submenu entries aswell or not.

    - Does the light version of Kali come with a differnet grub? Because I meant the fancy graphics mode in Grub, not Kali itself (the latter was my next question )

    Thank you for that solution, that worked ^^

Similar Threads

  1. Kali boot's in text mode No GUI at all...
    By bunnu1 in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2016-08-05, 08:55
  2. Kali Linux Dual Boot Mac (Wifi Configuration Issue)
    By Kali Linux User in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-07-21, 17:02
  3. Can only boot into text mode after installing i3
    By syntax3rror in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2015-03-05, 20:08

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •