Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Problems with ALFA AWUS036AC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2015-Dec
    Posts
    1

    Problems with ALFA AWUS036AC

    ****o there!!! I want to ask you something about ALFA AWUS036AC. I installed the drivers in my Kali Linux, so everything should go well... but there is a problem
    I want to put my ALFA in "mode monitor" so I write in a terminal:

    root@kali:/home/usuario# ifconfig wlan1 down
    root@kali:/home/usuario# iwconfig wlan1 mode monitor
    Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06) :
    SET failed on device wlan1 ; Invalid argument.
    root@kali:/home/usuario# ifconfig wlan1 up



    I also use:

    root@kali:/home/usuario# airmon-ng start wlan1
    Found 5 processes that could cause trouble.
    If airodump-ng, aireplay-ng or airtun-ng stops working after
    a short period of time, you may want to kill (some of) them!

    PID Name
    494 NetworkManager
    578 wpa_supplicant
    612 dhclient
    802 avahi-daemon
    803 avahi-daemon

    PHY Interface Driver Chipset

    phy0 wlan0 rtl8192ce Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter (rev 01)
    null wlan1 rtl8812au Realtek Semiconductor Corp. RTL8812AU 802.11a/b/g/n/ac WLAN Adapter
    root@kali:/home/usuario# iwconfig wlan1
    wlan1 un***ociated Nickname:"<WIFI@REALTEK>"
    Mode:Managed Frequency=2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-***ociated
    Sensitivity:0/0
    Retryff RTS thrff Fragment thrff
    Encryption keyff
    Power Managementff
    Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0



    As you can see, I can't do nothing. What's the problem?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2015-Sep
    Posts
    3
    The driver may not be capable of monitor mode yet. The cards fairly new, so if it's not capable of monitor out of the box, i wouldn't be suprised that nobody's hacked the driver yet. What chipset does the card use?

    Not sure if that's ur only card, but there isn't really any benefit to having an AC card in monitor mode right now. If u truly have a need for the dual band monitor/injection, i can highly recommend the AWUS051NH. It's a solid card, can handle 2W/33dBm, handles mon, injection, sta, and client modes great, and also does all those things in the 5Ghz band. I have TONS of AP's in my area and only 2 AP's use 5Ghz, both of em also have 2.4 broadcasts, and 1 of them is me :P

    That's y i asked if u really need monitor for the AC

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2016-Aug
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by Grey-Matter View Post
    The driver may not be capable of monitor mode yet. The cards fairly new, so if it's not capable of monitor out of the box, i wouldn't be suprised that nobody's hacked the driver yet. What chipset does the card use?

    Not sure if that's ur only card, but there isn't really any benefit to having an AC card in monitor mode right now. If u truly have a need for the dual band monitor/injection, i can highly recommend the AWUS051NH. It's a solid card, can handle 2W/33dBm, handles mon, injection, sta, and client modes great, and also does all those things in the 5Ghz band. I have TONS of AP's in my area and only 2 AP's use 5Ghz, both of em also have 2.4 broadcasts, and 1 of them is me :P

    That's y i asked if u really need monitor for the AC

    I have the Awus051nh but i cant get it to install
    could you help me please??

Similar Threads

  1. Compatibility with Alfa ac1200 awus036ac
    By Tikki000 in forum NetHunter General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2016-10-18, 00:45
  2. Alfa AWUS036AC driver support
    By CloudNine in forum General Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2016-07-22, 15:53
  3. Alfa AWUS036AC Can't Install Driver
    By nobyeast in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2016-05-16, 14:42

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •