Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: macchanger no longer changes MAC after Kali Rolling update (3/10/16)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2016-Mar
    Posts
    2

    macchanger no longer changes MAC after Kali Rolling update (3/10/16)

    I am having an issue with the macchanger tool after the Kali Rolling upgrade on 3/10/16. before this upgrade I would use:

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    macchanger -r wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    after giving these commands I use the "wifi settings" box to connect to my network, it would take a moment to connect but when it does it would show the spoofed MAC. After the upgrade however, the network manager switches my MAC back to default every time it connects to the network.

    ifconfig: (before MAC change)

    wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet xx.x.x.xx netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.0.0.255
    inet6 xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
    inet6 XXXX:xxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x0<global>
    inet6 xxxx:xxx:xxxx:xxxx::x prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x0<global>
    ether 76:93:2a:0f:ba:bb txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
    RX packets 41938 bytes 26553254 (25.3 MiB)
    RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
    TX packets 27249 bytes 3804688 (3.6 MiB)
    TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0

    ifconfig wlan0 down

    macchanger -r wlan0
    Current MAC: 76:93:2a:0f:ba:bb (unknown)
    Permanent MAC: 76:93:2a:0f:ba:bb (unknown)
    New MAC: 1a:9f:65:df:38:4e (unknown)

    ifconfig wlan0 up


    ifconfig (after MAC switch)

    wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet xx.x.x.xx netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.0.0.255
    inet6 xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x0<global>
    inet6 xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
    ether 1a:9f:65:df:38:4e txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
    RX packets 43064 bytes 26649172 (25.4 MiB)
    RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
    TX packets 27335 bytes 3815635 (3.6 MiB)
    TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0


    Then(because ifconfig wlan0 down drops the wlan0 connection) i re-connect my network connection

    ifconfig (after i re-connect)

    wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet xx.x.x.xx netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 10.0.0.255
    inet6 xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x20<link>
    inet6 xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx:xxxx prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x0<global>
    inet6 xxxx::xxxx:xxxx:xxxx::x prefixlen 128 scopeid 0x0<global>
    ether 76:93:2a:0f:ba:bb txqueuelen 1000 (Ethernet)
    RX packets 44364 bytes 26788223 (25.5 MiB)
    RX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 frame 0
    TX packets 27489 bytes 3836992 (3.6 MiB)
    TX errors 0 dropped 0 overruns 0 carrier 0 collisions 0


    Sorry for the noobishness of this thread, i'm just used to this tool working much differently in Kali than it has been and if something has changed in its syntax i would greatly appreciate some clarification :-)

    system info:

    processor: Intel® Core™ i3-5020U CPU @ 2.20GHz × 4
    Graphics : Intel® HD Graphics 5500 (Broadwell GT2)
    Base System : Kali GNU/Linux Rolling 64-bit (Live encrypted USB)
    GNOME Version 3.18.2

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Posts
    844
    Mteams suspects that NetworkManager is overriding your settings.

    Read Here

    https://forums.kali.org/showthread.p...or-general-use

    Musket Teams

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2016-Mar
    Posts
    2
    Thank you very much! This fixed my issues completely. I guess after using macchanger from the Terminal for so long i was unaware that the network manager GUI has a spot for cloned addresses too, my thanks to you and Musket Teams for helping me out!

    -Celsius

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2016-Oct
    Location
    Capão Bonito - SP, Brazil
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb A Simpler Solution

    I was having the exact same problem these days after updating Kali. Before updating/upgrading the system through its repositories, macchanger was working like a charm, but after the update, everytime I attempted to change the MAC addres of my interface and connect into a network, it was automatically reverting it to, or its permanent MAC address, or a random one, randomly.
    At first, I was not sure about what could be possibly causing it, but after doing some tests, using different devices with distinct configurations and trying various tools in different orders, I found out that the issue was being originated by NetworkManager, what I realized later being not an issue exactly, but just a different default configuration of the service than the one we were used to.
    The lastest versions of NetworkManager, 1.4.2, in this particular case, implement several configuration options for MAC spoofing/cloning, and when put in use, these options tend to override any configurations set by tools like macchanger and macchito, making them useless. It turns out that, in its newer versions (above 1.4.0, mainly), NetworkManager default configurations are set to randomize your MAC address or revert it to the permanent one on the moment your device scan the networks around you or attempt to connect into one of them. This new feature is very interesting for purposes of anonymity; for MAC spoofing, however, it can complicate your authentication attempts, if you have no knowledge about it.

    Disabling this feature is very simple, you'll need to change NetworkManager's configurations. You can do this either by editing /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf file or adding an additional .conf file to /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d directory (the .conf file can have any name). Though I highly recommend the second option, given that when updated, NetworkManager usually replaces its main .conf file, and if you choose the first option, your saved options may be overriten when the service gets these updates from time to time.

    Whatever option you choose, in the text editor, add the following lines:
    Code:
    [device]
    wifi.scan-rand-mac-address=no
    
    [connection]
    ethernet.cloned-mac-address=preserve
    wifi.cloned-mac-address=preserve
    And it's done, the problem now should have been resolved.
    If you want more on how can you configure NetworkManager in its newer versions by yourself, I recommend reading the following article, it was the one that helped into solving this:
    https://blogs.gnome.org/thaller/2016...manager-1-4-0/




    th3_z3r0

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2022-01-05, 05:29
  2. Kali network manager blocks macchanger in rolling release?
    By MissingAName in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2016-10-29, 22:06
  3. macchanger disconnects wifi - Kali Rolling
    By thornez in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2016-10-16, 03:57

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •