Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: wlan1 become wlxaca2132bf2ea (kali 4.4.0 rolling release) issue or bug?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Location
    /home/duxim
    Posts
    408

    Question wlan1 become wlxaca2132bf2ea (kali 4.4.0 rolling release) issue or bug?

    After some update, upgrade and dist-upgrade wlan1 become wlxaca2132bf2ea .
    Everything is working, but I have to use those stupid name.
    Example if I want monitor mode I need to type
    airmon-ng start wlxaca2132bf2ea and Kali brings adapter to monitor mode but name it as it should wlan1mon

    Card is USB with ralink 3070 chipset. It is also happen with other usb wifi adapter that have those names
    Where should I start to solve those stupid issue or is it bug?

    sudo lshw -C network
    show those output

    Code:
    *-usb                   
           description: Wireless interface
           product: 802.11 n WLAN
           vendor: Ralink
           physical id: 2
           bus info: usb@1:2.2
           logical name: wlxaca2132bf2ea
           version: 1.01
           serial: 1.0
           capabilities: usb-2.00 ethernet physical wireless
           configuration: broadcast=yes driver=rt2800usb driverversion=4.4.0-kali1-amd64 firmware=0.29 ip=192.168.1.12 link=yes maxpower=450mA multicast=yes speed=480Mbit/s wireless=IEEE 802.11bgn




    .
    Repetitio est mater studiorum

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2016-Jan
    Posts
    99
    i have the same names on latest ubuntu.."airmon-ng start wlp0s26u1u1" sounds funny tho ) it's a new thing(well.. not quite new) and not a bug. you can change them as you please in /etc/udev/rules.d

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Location
    /home/duxim
    Posts
    408
    @bob97
    Thank you for your answer. It give me a hint, but not solution.
    Could you be more specific what should be done in this case, or could you point me to some link where is that good explained.
    Repetitio est mater studiorum

  4. #4
    Join Date
    2016-May
    Posts
    3
    Exactly the same issue here, the network interfaces are being named the same as the mac address of that particular card thats in that slot, I'm seeing the same thing on a PI2 and it's renamed eth0 to the mac address of that adapter (eth0 on a pi is just a usb lan adapter thats hardwired to the USB bus, done two installs now with older images and it's fine, as soon as I upgrade it's borked them

  5. #5
    Join Date
    2016-May
    Posts
    3
    Ok, bit of an update, looking in udev rules there isn't a single rule after update (haven't checked before), when I look at the rules in my /udev/rules.d/ on my kali laptop there's a load of rules, is something deleting them in the update process and if so how do I get them back or rebuild them?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    2016-Jan
    Posts
    99
    http://askubuntu.com/questions/68907...0-udev-changes

    on ubuntu it worked for me.. since i use sana and not rolling.. i can't say if this is working on kali
    Last edited by bob79; 2016-05-05 at 08:05.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    2016-May
    Posts
    3
    Ahhhh so it's normal behaviour then, wonder if this will have any knock on effects on some of the tools in Kali, no more just referring to "eth0" as it will be different for every pc, can imagine that working well....not :/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    2015-Aug
    Posts
    19
    I am having this issue as well. The silver lining is that everything actually works the way it is supposed to other than scripts I have written for wlan0. However, both the script issue as well as having to type the entire mac address for so many commands is plain annoying. Not to mention the fact that I can't remember the mac address and have to look it up every time I need to reference the interface. I have been looking high and low to solve this for Kali Rolling and I can not find a thing. There are solutions for other distros out there, but none of them seem to connect with Kali.

    I'll try harder...

    But seriously, if anyone figures it out...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    2016-Jan
    Posts
    99
    see post #6 and give it a try. if it's working(or not), share with the others as well
    EDIT
    ok found something.. pain in the a** i know

    ifconfig "interface name" down
    ip link set "interface name" name wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    hope this helps
    Last edited by bob79; 2016-05-05 at 08:22.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    2013-Sep
    Posts
    264
    I don't know who the **** thought that it will be easier or better to use the mac.
    It is supposed to avoid confiusion.
    The guys that did that change in sytemd have clearly not a clue a bout how is real life...
    for scripting that okay, the script do it for you, but for comand line... ***, waht a bad idea.
    And that supposed to be an user' oriented choice.
    grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
    Can we use the phy instead? I'm not sure at all... but that would be definitely better than this new stu7pid interface name...
    By the way, not so long ago, if i had a rt3070 switched first it would have been wlan1, than if i switched an ar9271 it would have been a wlan2 even if i did not have my rt3070 switched in.. So that was not an issue.
    Last edited by kcdtv; 2016-05-05 at 11:07.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Location
    /home/duxim
    Posts
    408
    @bob97 and others
    after this:
    ifconfig wlxaca2132bf2ea down
    ip link set wlxaca2132bf2ea wlan1
    Error: either "dev" is duplicate, or "wlan1" is a garbage.
    *** ?!?

    @kcdtv
    sometimes I fell like lab rat for developers. suddenly in the middle of work system refuse to work properly

    None of the solution does not work for Kali at the moment.
    Good explanation of this bug is on bob79 link in #6 post

    1) Names incorporating Firmware/BIOS provided index numbers for on-board devices (example: eno1)
    2) Names incorporating Firmware/BIOS provided PCI Express hotplug slot index numbers (example: ens1)
    3) Names incorporating physical/geographical location of the connector of the hardware (example: enp2s0)
    4) Names incorporating the interfaces's MAC address (example: enx78e7d1ea46da)
    5) Classic, unpredictable kernel-native ethX naming (example: eth0) - depreciated
    By default, systemd will now name interfaces following policy:

    1) if that information from the firmware is applicable and available, falling back to
    2) if that information from the firmware is applicable and available, falling back to
    3) if applicable, falling back to
    5) in all other cases.
    4) is not used by default, but is available if the user chooses so.

    Create your own manual naming scheme, for example by naming your interfaces internet0, or lan0.
    For that create your own udev rules file and set the name property for the devices.
    Make sure to order it before the default policy file, for example by naming it `/etc/udev/rules.d/70-my-net-names.rules`
    but w/o help for Kali

    p.s. it is only happen for usb adapters not for pci (built in) adapters
    Last edited by duxim; 2016-05-05 at 14:42.
    Repetitio est mater studiorum

  12. #12
    Join Date
    2015-Aug
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by bob79 View Post
    see post #6 and give it a try. if it's working(or not), share with the others as well
    EDIT
    ok found something.. pain in the a** i know

    ifconfig "interface name" down
    ip link set "interface name" name wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    hope this helps
    I tried this the other day and it works, but it is not persistent. I suppose running a script on startup is doable, however, I have not tested how it might work when restarting network manager or anything like that.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    2016-May
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by bob79 View Post
    see post #6 and give it a try. if it's working(or not), share with the others as well
    EDIT
    ok found something.. pain in the a** i know

    ifconfig "interface name" down
    ip link set "interface name" name wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    hope this helps
    Thanks

    Quote Originally Posted by duxim View Post
    @bob97 and others
    after this:
    ifconfig wlxaca2132bf2ea down
    ip link set wlxaca2132bf2ea wlan1
    Error: either "dev" is duplicate, or "wlan1" is a garbage.
    *** ?!?

    @kcdtv
    sometimes I fell like lab rat for developers. suddenly in the middle of work system refuse to work properly

    None of the solution does not work for Kali at the moment.
    Good explanation of this bug is on bob79 link in #6 post



    but w/o help for Kali

    p.s. it is only happen for usb adapters not for pci (built in) adapters
    Code:
    ifconfig wlxaca2132bf2ea down
    ip link set wlxaca2132bf2ea name wlan1
    ifconfig wlxaca2132bf2ea up
    [EDIT]
    https://rundata.wordpress.com/2013/1...rk-interfaces/
    Last edited by De@n; 2016-05-05 at 23:00.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    2016-Jan
    Posts
    99
    Quote Originally Posted by duxim View Post
    after this:
    ifconfig wlxaca2132bf2ea down
    ip link set wlxaca2132bf2ea wlan1
    Error: either "dev" is duplicate, or "wlan1" is a garbage.
    *** ?!?
    lol
    you missed "name"
    should be
    "ifconfig wlxaca2132bf2ea down"
    "ip link set wlxaca2132bf2ea name wlan1"
    pay more attention next time

  15. #15
    Join Date
    2016-Apr
    Posts
    100

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by bob79 View Post
    ok found something.. pain in the a** i know

    ifconfig "interface name" down
    ip link set "interface name" name wlan0
    ifconfig wlan0 up

    hope this helps
    Thank You
    Code:
    dmesg | grep wlx
    [   18.408260] rt73usb 3-7:1.0 wlx000e3b086479: renamed from wlan2
    [   18.426366] rt73usb 3-3:1.0 wlx0022b0e03a15: renamed from wlan1
    Your script works well.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    2015-Jul
    Location
    /home/duxim
    Posts
    408
    Quote Originally Posted by bob79 View Post
    lol
    you missed "name"
    should be
    "ifconfig wlxaca2132bf2ea down"
    "ip link set wlxaca2132bf2ea name wlan1"
    pay more attention next time
    hehe
    first thank you. it works!
    second sometimes my brain is not turned on so one missing word is nothing
    Repetitio est mater studiorum

  17. #17
    Join Date
    2016-Apr
    Posts
    100
    To make it persistent across reboots:

    Code:
    leafpad /etc/network/if-up.d/wlanfix
    Add:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    ifconfig wlx000e3b086479 down
    ip link set wlx000e3b086479 name wlan1
    ifconfig wlan1 up
    
    ifconfig wlx0022b0e03a15 down
    ip link set wlx0022b0e03a15 name wlan2
    ifconfig wlan2 up
    Replace the wlx values with yours.

    Code:
    chmod 755 /etc/network/if-up.d/wlanfix
    Reboot and run ifconfig.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    2015-Aug
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by P373 View Post
    To make it persistent across reboots:

    Code:
    leafpad /etc/network/if-up.d/wlanfix
    Add:

    Code:
    #!/bin/bash
    
    ifconfig wlx000e3b086479 down
    ip link set wlx000e3b086479 name wlan1
    ifconfig wlan1 up
    
    ifconfig wlx0022b0e03a15 down
    ip link set wlx0022b0e03a15 name wlan2
    ifconfig wlan2 up
    Replace the wlx values with yours.

    Code:
    chmod 755 /etc/network/if-up.d/wlanfix
    Reboot and run ifconfig.
    Thank you. This worked very well for me. The only thing left out is the dynamic naming process should an alternative adapter be used from time to time. However, this solves so much that I can't imagine being bothered by having to add a little bit of script to the file from time to time. This was very useful. Thanks again.

  19. #19
    Join Date
    2016-Jan
    Posts
    99
    great! i don't even have this issue on my sana(yet) but thank you. good job

  20. #20
    Join Date
    2013-Sep
    Posts
    264
    Nooooooooooo
    Here they are the so easy to use wlxXXXXXXXXXXXX interfaces
    Longlive to Mister X and aircrack-ng

    Code:
    Interface 15mon is too long for linux so it will be renamed to the old style (wlan#) name.
    well well... I hope that offesnive security will patch this to get back to the old fashioned way which is definitely better than this wlxXXXXXXXXX new nomenclature.
    An useless change made for i don't know who... who the **** know the mac of it interfaces... wlan0 for the internal, wlan1 for the first usb, wlan2 for the second... simple and easy.

  21. #21
    Join Date
    2016-Apr
    Posts
    100
    Quote Originally Posted by bob79 View Post
    great! i don't even have this issue on my sana(yet) but thank you. good job
    Kudos to you bob79. Thanks for the script.

  22. #22
    Join Date
    2013-Sep
    Posts
    264
    The good news is that it seems that Kali developers are working on it :
    bug 3276
    I don't think they gonna implement the change to go back to old interfaces by default, well i am not sure, but I don't see that happens.
    But at least we will be able to easly go back to our wlanX interfaces using one of this three methods (they say four bu i can see just three):
    I don't like this, how do I disable this?

    You basically have four options:

    You disable the assignment of fixed names, so that the unpredictable kernel names are used again. For this, simply mask udev's rule file for the default policy: ln -s /dev/null /etc/udev/rules.d/80-net-setup-link.rules
    You create your own manual naming scheme, for example by naming your interfaces "internet0", "dmz0" or "lan0". For that create your own .link files in /etc/systemd/network/, that choose an explicit name or a better naming scheme for one, some, or all of your interfaces. See systemd.link(5) for more information.
    You pass the net.ifnames=0 on the kernel command line
    Predictable Network Interface Names

    This works!

    Open 73-special-net-names.rules with a text editor (with administrator privileges):
    Code:
    sudo gedit /lib/udev/rules.d/73-special-net-names.rules
    comment the last line (add a # at he beginning of the last line)
    Your file should look like this now

    reboot and that it!
    Now i have my wlanX interfaces back...

    Thanks to threeway for the trick (see the ticket)
    Last edited by kcdtv; 2016-05-07 at 21:18.

  23. #23
    Join Date
    2015-Aug
    Posts
    19
    Truly a lovely find. My hat is off. Thank you.

Similar Threads

  1. Help!! kali rolling repositories does not have release file
    By kirby21 in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2017-04-07, 00:04
  2. Kali 2 rolling release + Crouton + Gnome ?
    By Onkelpoe in forum ARM Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2016-06-24, 22:44
  3. Problem with BeEF with Kali Rolling Release
    By OMDRsamid in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2016-04-22, 23:01
  4. Kali 2016 Rolling Release how to fetch only security updates
    By gerlinde in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2016-02-11, 19:46

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •