Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: MAC Changer, Looking for Resolution

  1. #1
    Join Date
    2014-May
    Posts
    3

    MAC Changer, Looking for Resolution

    https://bugs.kali.org/view.php?id=3334

    This is the link to the bug of the MAC Changer which when changing the MAC it doesn't stay to the MAC is was changed to but instead it reverts back to the permanent factory state MAC. I will look into this matter myself within this week but if a someone is able to find a resolution before I will that please post it here and post it in the Bug notes. Others see it that it is a version issue, which I believe it is a confliction with the kernal and version of MAC Changer. But the only latest known version of MAC changer is found here: https://github.com/alobbs/macchanger . But I will look into this myself but again if a resolution is to be found before I find one please post it.

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    2013-Jul
    Posts
    844
    To Ezekiel1986

    Make sure that the reversion back to permanent factory state is not being caused by Network Manager(NM)

    An easy way to prove if NM is the cause is to run:

    airmon-ng check kill

    This will end NM function thru service commands

    Now try your mac changing routine and see if it stays in residence and doesnot revert. If it doesnot revert then NM may be the cause.

    For more on this find the thread netmanmac in these forums


    Furthermore if NM is not the cause try these alternative routines to change the mac address

    ifconfig wlan0 down
    ifconfig wlan0 hw ether 00:11:22:33:44:55
    ifconfig wlan0 up
    airmon-ng start wlan0

    ifconfig wlan0mon down
    iwconfig wlan0mon mode manage
    ifconfig wlan0mon hw ether 00:11:22:33:44:55
    sleep 2 # Only if in script, if done from command line not rqr
    iwconfig wlan0mon mode monitor
    ifconfig wlan0mon up

    Musket Teams
    Last edited by mmusket33; 2016-07-12 at 02:20.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    2016-Apr
    Posts
    100
    You have to spoof network-manager I found out. Try this:

    Code:
    leafpad /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/30-mac-random.conf
    Add this to the file:

    Code:
    [device-mac-randomization]
    # "yes" is already the default for scanning
    wifi.scan-rand-mac-address=yes
    
    [connection-mac-randomization]
    ethernet.cloned-mac-address=random
    wifi.cloned-mac-address=random
    Save and close the file and run:

    Code:
    chmod +x /etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/30-mac-random.conf
    REBOOT

    Run:

    Code:
    journalctl -u NetworkManager | grep -w MAC
    Should all be spoofed.

    Thanks to MAC Address Spoofing in NetworkManager 1.4.0

Similar Threads

  1. Win-KEX Resolution
    By JackO in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2020-09-07, 19:30
  2. Can't add new resolution
    By Aetherminous in forum TroubleShooting Archive
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2016-03-12, 17:07
  3. problem in a new nethunter v 3.0 nexus5 in Mac changer
    By khanfar in forum NetHunter General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2016-01-16, 15:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •